Xlights with other Papagayo language (Dutch)?

ejwind

New elf
Hi there, I have been using Xlights for 3 years now.

Youtube Channel:
Christmas Lights Zwolle
@erikjanwind

At the moment I only do English songs because of the language restriction. Does anybody know how to make papagayo within Xlights compatible with Dutch or other languages? I have tried some googling the past years but only could come up with https://github.com/smeighan/xLights/issues/2469 And I dont understand it. Many thanks in advance!

keithsw1111

Senior elf
Essentially you need a dictionary of words to phonemes. Xlights uses the Carnegie Mellon University model. If you can find something equivalent then it could be added.

ejwind

New elf
Ok, thank you for your reply. Unfortunately at the moment I cannot find any. Any pointers what type of file that I am looking for? And how to add them to xlights in order to switch dictionaries? Many thanks

merryoncherry

Senior elf
You're looking for a file with word followed by phonetics, one word per line, like:
CHRISTMAS K R IH1 S M AH0 S

If you look in your xLights program folder, you can find the standard_dictionary, extended_dictionary, german_dictionary, etc.

So, as far as leads for a dictionary, I don't have any, but some people believe a simple spelling-based pronunciation is good enough to be useful and attempted it:
And more recently:

Maybe you could run an extensive word list through that kind of code, and thereby obtain a dictionary for xLights.
Or, there could be an attempt to replicate the python logic into the xLights implemementation also... the logic is just a few hundred lines of GPL'd code.

ejwind

New elf
You're looking for a file with word followed by phonetics, one word per line, like:
CHRISTMAS K R IH1 S M AH0 S

If you look in your xLights program folder, you can find the standard_dictionary, extended_dictionary, german_dictionary, etc.