12V Ray pixel string giving me fits...

nutz4lights

Full time elf
Now that I have S3 talking to my ECG-P12R controlling my RGB twig tree (which uses two universe outputs, each with 100 5V pixels on them)... I decided to test out the 100 pixel 12V string I bought from Ray Wu. I had tested it out quickly with the Ray Wu pixel controller when the shipment came a month or so ago and it worked then. I am a pixel newbie still and wanted to try and measure the current draw for 100 of these 12V pixels. I hooked it up the way I thought it should get hooked up to the P12R and it wouldn't work... I started to second guess myself, because as I said above... I am a newbie... I went through the P12R guide again to make sure that I had the 12V hooked up right (my RGB twig tree is 5V) and I did... made sure my connections were good, they were... ended up deciding to cut the 100 pixel string in half and use the second half of the string and WHOILA... 50 pixels working perfectly...

So, it appears that I have my first dead string of pixels. It is probably something that I did in trying to hook it up, but whatever... the problem I'm having is... the way I understand this... if there is an IC dead in the series chain, the lights should work well up to that point and then not at all afterwards. The only thing I'm getting out of the "dead" half is that the first pixel is dimly blinking a reddish color... I cut that pixel away thinking that maybe it was something with that pixel and I get the dimly lit reddish color on the next pixel... and again... did the same thing... this time cutting away 5 pixels... same dimly lit reddish color...

Obviously, there must be some trick to this that I am just not seeing... so I'm hoping that someone here can help. When you have a string that is not behaving properly... how do you go about troubleshooting?

Thanks,

Trafficman

Teach Me!!!