2811 pixel strip and channelling question

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by Madko, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. Madko

    Madko Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castle Hill NSW
    Hey all,


    With the pixel strip 2811 5m one IC per 3 pixels, when it comes to channels does the first 3 pixels only require 3 channels? One channel for red, one for green and one for blue? Therefore when setting that channel high in a sequence will make all 3 pixels light up depending on what colour is being selected?
     
  2. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Each IC is 3 channels (R, G and B). It is each channel that you are controlling and each 1 of them is a channel in your sequencing software. Depending on the "pixel" it can be a single led being controlled, 3 leds at a time for 12V and there is the potential that 6 to 8 leds at a time could be controlled if there is any 24V 2811 strip around.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Madko

    Madko Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castle Hill NSW
    It's the 12V strip. So are you saying that within my software, for example the first 3 pixels, I set channel one red high, the first 3 pixels will light up red?


    Also, a 12V, 2811, 5 meter, 10 piece IC, 30 pixel per meter strip has 150 channels?
     
  4. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Yes and yes. :)
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Madko

    Madko Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castle Hill NSW
    Thanks!
     

Share This Page