2811DC15 multiple voltages

Discussion in 'Hanson Electronics' started by Hayden, Jun 28, 2017.

  1. Hayden

    Hayden New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mornington Peninsula
    I'm looking at controlling some store-bought lights with the 2811DC15 and they are of varying voltages. The manual has a diagram (copied below) that shows a 12V PSU providing power to the +V outputs and a 5V PSU powering lights controlled from one channel. Is it possible to use say 5 or 6 plug-packs of varying voltages with each of the store-bought lights, in the same fashion as the 5V PSU has been connected to channel 1 below?

    2011DC15 multiple voltage.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2017
  2. lithgowlights

    lithgowlights Senior Elf

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Lithgow, NSW
    Find Me On:
    With most DC Controllers that is easily possible. Do you need to know how, or how you supply the board, or what?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Hayden

    Hayden New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mornington Peninsula
    Sorry lithgow, I edited my original post before I realised you replied (you were quick)
     
  4. lithgowlights

    lithgowlights Senior Elf

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Lithgow, NSW
    Find Me On:
    While it is, I would no do it with plugpacks as they can be a total pest when dimming, to the point they can really heat up with some dimmers and some plugpacks. With the standard PSU's you can often adjust them +/- 10% so you should be able to get close to the voltages you need, and often choosing a PSU thats a few volts low wont really change the brightness a lot
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Hayden

    Hayden New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mornington Peninsula
    Thanks, I didn't realise the plug packs might have that issue.
    The voltages i'm using I think will only be 36V and 30V, so should I buy a proper power supply set for 30V for this to work reliably?
    Cheers,
    Hayden.
     
  6. marmalade

    marmalade cats & pixels

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    newcastle
    Agree with lithgow, there are some really crappy unregulated rippley plug packs out there but generally the larger ones seem ok. Since I'm posting pics tonight (lol) heres my DC30 running from an espixelstick, multiple voltages for various dumb display elements . A 12V and 30V plugpack and some adjustable 8A switchmode regulators to get the 24V & 3V required by the flashy things it runs.

    IMG_3163.JPG
     
    danv likes this.

Share This Page