AC dimmer for FPP

Discussion in 'Computers, Cabling & Other Miscellaneous Hardware' started by nato595, Dec 15, 2015.

  1. nato595

    nato595 Let's do this!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reno, Nevada
    Find Me On:
    Is there an AC dimmer/controller (similar to the common LOR 16 channel AC controller) that will work with FPP?
    I'm kind of getting the impression that FPP only controls E1.31 pixel controllers and DMX.
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    If the FPP can output DMX, use that to drive a standard LOR AC controller. All except the really old boards accept DMX. You will have to make a cable adapter though.
     
  3. CaptainMurdoch

    CaptainMurdoch Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    FPP also works fine with the LOR protocol. We have several uses still using the LOR protocol with FPP. A LOR channel output can be setup on the same page in the UI as the DMX channel output type.
     
  4. madmaxisback

    madmaxisback New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaga
    Nice!
    So can I daisy chain from USB485 to 1-4 controllers and tell FPP its 64 channels?

    How do we then address the LOR 1-64 when sequencing?

    I have about 300 channels on DMX also, so would I be better off making up a cable to suit and changing all LOR to DMX?

    Edited: Got it! Easy as 1-2-3... Thanks Captain!
     
  5. pjones

    pjones New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in the same boat right now. I'm running a Pi2 with FPP and plan on using a Falcon16V2 controller to power pixels in my house, but I still have a whole yard with AC lights that won't be switched out yet. Will I be able to run the LOR DMX output at the same time as the XLights output to the F16V2? I'm not sure if I can mix the two worlds together or if it could still easily be synchronized in XLights. This is my first year planing, hopefully to be set up for 2016.
     
  6. CaptainMurdoch

    CaptainMurdoch Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    The F16 v2 has DMX out on it so you will be able to use it to drive your DMX equipment
     
  7. AussiePhil

    AussiePhil Dedicated Elf Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT, Australia
    Find Me On:
    Even better it has three DMX outputs :) completely independent of the pixel outputs
     
  8. the grinch

    the grinch I guess I could use a little social interaction

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    angle vale s.a.

    The more I research about the f16v2 more anxious I am to have it . Pretty sure have seen four dmx outputs . Coolest gadget . There is a you tube vid I watched running lor with pixels plus dmx controllers connected just search youtube under f16v2
     
  9. OP
    OP
    nato595

    nato595 Let's do this!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reno, Nevada
    Find Me On:
    Thank you, that sounds like the easiest and option for me. Does anyone know the pinout for a DMX485 LOR dongle to the LOR controller to run in DMX mode?
    Also, how do I go about changing the controller from LOR mode to "DMX mode"?
    Also, is the LOR DMX485 dongle plug-n-play with the Pi, or do I somehow need to install drivers?
    Thanks!!
     
  10. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)

Share This Page