Answered Accessing F16V3 from FPP

Discussion in 'DMX, E1.31 & Networking' started by Doctor_007, Aug 22, 2017.

  1. Doctor_007

    Doctor_007 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    Hi All,
    I'm configuring the Falcon F16V3 and FPP and for whatever reason I can't get them to play nice together! So what I'm trying to achieve seems to be reasonably standard where I will have my Pi with FPP connected via WiFi to my home router then have F16V3 connected to the Pi via the Eth0 port. My issue is I can access FPP in the Web Browser via Ethernet connection, setup WiFi with static IP, Disconnect Ethernet cable and can then access FPP via the Static IP fine, however when I change the eth0 interface settings and save I then loose access via WiFi and have to reconnect via the Ethernet cable and the setup doesn't work as I can't ping/tracert to the F16V3.

    These are my settings in FPP:
    FPP Version v1.9-50-gfe8e9a5

    wlan0

    upload_2017-8-22_20-28-53.png

    eth0
    upload_2017-8-22_20-29-34.png

    Enable Routing is turned on.

    F16V3

    IP: 192.168.101.050
    Mask: 255.255.255.000
    Gateway: 192.168.1.213
    DSN: 192.168.1.213

    I have also added a route for 192.168.101.050 via 192.168.1.101

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!


    Regards,
    Matt.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kadina
    Not sure, but shouldn't IP address for Fv3 be 192.168.1.050, not the x.x.101.x that you have listed
    And the same as the route IP 192.168.1.050 via 192.168.1.101
    I'm not a networking anything and could be wrong.
    Hope it works
    Cheers Boof63
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Doctor_007

    Doctor_007 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    Hi @Boof63

    I've got the WiFi issue sorted now with the eth0 settings configured. Still can't route through FPP to the F16 though. Will keep trying a few different things unless someone has got this running?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Doctor_007

    Doctor_007 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    Ah I just got it working, persistence does pay sometimes!

    I've put my working settings below for future reference:

    eth0:
    upload_2017-8-22_21-40-14.png

    wlan:
    upload_2017-8-22_21-40-52.png

    F16V3:
    upload_2017-8-22_21-41-56.png
     
    Boof63 likes this.
  5. Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kadina
    Maybe you can help me. I've lost my wlan0 choice from from Fpp/Pi, any ideas on how to get it back so i can actually use it
    FPP is V1.9
    Cheers Boof63
     
  6. Pyzze

    Pyzze New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Find Me On:
    Doctor... maby im totaly out ther ..but it looks like u have a to strong netmask... try 255.255.0.0 so u open it more just me thinking loud!
     
  7. ezellner

    ezellner New Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
    I'm just a newbie but here is how I think it works. The key takeaway is that eth0 and wlan0 cannot be on the same subnet. In this case, the third set of numbers in the IP address (xxx.xxx.AAA.xxx) need to be different. In the initial example, both eth0 and wlan0 had 1 in the third position of the IP address. In the configuration that worked, wlan0 had a 1 in the third postion and eth0 had 101 in the third position. In order to access the F16V3 (or any other controller) via the wireless connection on your computer, you have to use a route command to tell the router how to find the controller. Since the router can't "see" the other subnet on the other side of the Pi, it would normally look to the internet to find that IP address.
     
    Doctor_007 likes this.
  8. OP
    OP
    Doctor_007

    Doctor_007 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    Hi,
    My main issue was that I hadn't changed the subnet on eth0. There is a good video from one of the minis that explains it pretty well also if you google "routing between different subnets" there are some good examples too. Basically need it to know how to route to and from the F16. I can try to explain it better if it doesn't make sense, otherwise copy my above working example and try a tracert in cmd (trace route) to that F16 IP to see how it finds its way.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Doctor_007

    Doctor_007 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    Hi Boof63,
    I'm guessing you have the Pi connected via an Ethernet cable now to access the web page and the wlan option isn't appearing in the list like above pics? What model Pi are you using (mine still uses Wi-Fi dongle) ? I believe when the Pi starts up it checks for a wlan adaptor so it may not be recognised (might be worth a reboot). Not sure how FPP is setup but for previous Pi projects I've had to manually enter the SSID and passkey via editing the interfaces configuration file (when logged into Pi) type - sudo nano /etc/network/interfaces. Then reboot and you should get some indication on the dongle (if it has one).
     
    Boof63 likes this.
  10. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Munno Para
    With the FPP you don't need to manually modify the Network Interfaces file in order to get it to connect to a wireless network it is all taken care of by the FPP interface, I found this out when connecting to my wifi network with a hidden SSID.

    Generally if the WLAN option isn't showing it means that the wireless network interface didn't start on startup, so if you have a pi 3 then the onboard wifi may have an issue, earlier versions of the PI require an addon wireless adapter so it might not be connected correctly or just try another USB port and reboot the PI.
     
    Boof63 and Doctor_007 like this.

Share This Page