All my Pixels show White - No colour changing - Help Please

Mikeynz

New elf
Hi,

So I'm new to this, but not really new to LED's and Technology as such , but this is really doing my head in - and got me lost as to why and how , so any assistance would really be welcomed to help out this first timer.

I am running the Pixlight 16 Mk 2 Board - I got it second hand, but it seems to work ok on most parts, but I do think it has a issues with ports 1-8 on the data, as somtimes to have to push the IC down for the signal to work. That aside - port 9-16 works great and the side I have beend doing all my testing - My issue is all my Mega tree strips, and my LED strips when pluged into my test port - shine up all white , and the test patten doesn't come on - that is the same for the other 15 odd mega tree strips - I didn't get a chance to test them before installing them in the strips.

So I'm thinking, maybe I have a faulty cable connected to the Controler - but I plug in my 90 Pixel star and it works perfect, no issues at all. So the next thing I try is I did get a mini tree working - one of my only props to be working - so I plug in my mega tree strips to the end of my mini tree, and bingo, the strips work perfect, no issues with power , and changing colours as they should - so to me this rules out faulty Pixels and wiring - Would I be correct ??

I guess to get around this, I could setup my mega tree to run off 1 port, then seems to be working , and power enject everything - but it wasen't my plan, and I guess that still doesn't help me fix what I could be doing wrong with my setup ? and why even the LED strips which have never been touched have the same issue ? I am waiting for my orginal controller to turn up - a Kulp , but its stuck in transit and not sure it will get here in time. I have attached a video to try and show the issue I am seeing.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/bg2yi2ahjej428g/Lights.mp4?dl=0

Thanks,

Last edited:

Mikeynz

New elf