Another creative power injection thought

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by Grumpy, Feb 13, 2015.

  1. Grumpy

    Grumpy New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    New to sequencing, but familiar with electronics, and very well versed in controls and power wiring….with that said, I’m trying to get real creative, laying out my wiring, and to limit my 12V voltage drop. This layout also allows for both 5V and 12V on same date line.

    In an ideal world, I would have (4) e6804, one at each arch point for each 5V & 12V runs. With the 120V power distribution, and since data is low current and the null pixels act as data repeaters every 20 feet, my wire doesn’t need to my up-sized.

    Another creative thought was to use the same data for both 5V & 12V, with separate power supplies and injection points to support the difference voltages needs.

    Without the distant and repeaters in place, I have a prototype layout running a single data line and power injection as needed. So far the only issue is the RGB sequence that differs between Strips & Pixels. Strip Red=Red and Pixel Red=Green. I can look for some that match or just adjust in sequencing. When I want Red on the pixel, I’ll schedule for Blue, or whatever color the Pixel will need to be for Red output.

    Has anybody done anything like I have drawn…see attached PDF – any and all comments appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Fing

    Fing Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Muswellbrook
    Find Me On:
    Hi Grumpy,


    I'm new here as well, so I can't really offer you any advice, but I noticed you are using multiple null nodes to extend your data. This is a problem that i am also looking at. I found these pixel extenders on page 63 of the 101 manual and at http://www.j1sys.com/ecg-ppx/ i don't know if they work, or anything about them, but i thought you may be interested. If anyone can help with these as well I would be grateful for the advice.


    Cheers
    Fing
     
  3. AussieDoug

    AussieDoug Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your power injection layout looks perfect.
    As for the RGB orientation, most controllers & software have the ability to change this. So when sequencing it can all be done to the correct colour. Seeing we buy our lights from Mr Nice N Cheap, they don't seem to care about making them all the same. So luckily it's an easy fix.
     
  4. AussieDoug

    AussieDoug Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    As for the pixel extenders that becomes a value for money issue.
    A few pixels used as nulls & your time vs $$ to buy a pixel extender. Most of us go down the line of multiple null pixels.
     
  5. ando1961

    ando1961 New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Grumpy,

    As Doug said the software used for the hardware for most is configurable. Another member put me onto this software so you can see what orientation your RGB are at especially lights purchased from China.

    http://www.da-share.com/software/da_e131/
     
  6. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    What a great bit of software! :D
     
  7. gnarmstr

    gnarmstr Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Karalee
    I use those extenders and they work great, one of them I have goes 50m with no issues. I did by the one that has the 4 transmitters on it as my controller box sits in the garage, I then have 4 single receivers for the remote Universes although I only needed to use two of them last Christmas.

    Highly recommended.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Grumpy

    Grumpy New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    Null Pixels.....Typical for SanDevice, and may not apply to others. I understand Null Pixels are just a single pixel (can be a dead LED with a good WS2811) placed inline every 20 feet. These pixels need to be assigned, but never turned on. I bought a short string of pixels for my initial workbench testing. I'll just cut them off as needed and build my data distribution lines. In my example, the first (3) channels in each universe will be assigned as null pixels. In Vixen, it's just assigning the pixel properly. Easy and the price is right.
     
  9. mararunr

    mararunr Here to learn! (and share)

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    3505 NW Edgewood Ave, Bentonville Arkansas, USA
    Find Me On:
    Don't forget you can also use null pixels between elements to extend a run (null pixels do not always have to be at the beginning). The only difference is you account for them in the sequencing software versus the controller set up. That tidbit helped me a lot last season because I had a few floodlights that were spaced way apart (had 2 nulls between a couple).
     
  10. plasmadrive

    plasmadrive Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    I have also used the Pixel Extenders and I love them.. they work great and every time.. not so much the null pixels for me. worked fine until I bundled everything together.. then I got noise issues. Not so with the Extenders..

    As for the power, your scheme looks sound. I personally do it a bit differently... I use one or more 24vdc supplies and DC-DC converters at the props. Works perfectly and I can have whatever voltage I want where I want it from a single supply. I use waterproof supplies and converters.. no boxes for power supplies, no fans, no worries..
     
  11. arw01

    arw01 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    Falcon Christmas is also working on a "pixel" extender, you can find some details on it over there. May be a less expensive option in the long run. Certainly simplier from a sequencing standpoint.
     
  12. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I have combined a 5vdc, 12vdc and 24vdc run from the same output sharing the data, In LSP this was easy to sequence and correct the RGB orientation because i treated each one as a different element. So there should be no issue in doing it this way
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Grumpy

    Grumpy New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    Fasteddy, thanks for your comments.....you caused me to look at Vixen 3 a little deeper. Yes, in elements setup there is a way to change RGB to GBR, but it needs to be changed on every pixel....That's too much "nppct" (non productive pixel changing time)

    On each of 2 runs, I have (168) strip pixel and (75) 12mm pixel. I need to change on group or the other, times 2

    In Vixen 3, does anybody have any tricks to change pixel color assignments in groups.



    plasmadrive....I'll thoroughly test the system with null pixels, with enough time to order and install pixel extenders if necessary. Thanks for the heads up.
     
  14. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Depending on the controller you use will help with this as well. The J1sys will allow you to change the RGB orientation up to 4 times from the one output, im not sure about the sandevices and think the advatek doesnt either. So a setup like this has its limitation depending on hardware and software you are using. Looks like you may have to do it manually, but then that should only be a one off excercise.
     
  15. mararunr

    mararunr Here to learn! (and share)

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    3505 NW Edgewood Ave, Bentonville Arkansas, USA
    Find Me On:
    Advatek boards do allow changing the order on each output (GBR, RGB, BRG, etc.).
     

Share This Page