another noob here

badger4543

Full time elf
hey guys this will hopefully be my first year with pixels and i've got my hands on a new second hand pixlite 16 mkII, and im just trying to connect my controller to a mac book. now ive got the controller powered up, in network settings it say ethernet connected but in advatek assistant is doesnt find it.. is this something to do with my ip on the mac? and can anyone help me get around this? as im not very tech savy cheers

Mark_M

Annoying Elf
Likely with your macs IP.
Find out what sub net your controller is on e.g 192.168.000.xxx and have your computer on the same.

Usually these assistant applications to search around and find it.
-------------
From the manual: http://www.advateklights.com/wp-content/uploads/downloads/2013/10/PixLite-16-User-Manual-V1.2.pdf
(I'm presuming the mkII has the same setup configuration.)
3.1.2 – IP Addressing Using a Router
Routers have a DHCP server in them– this means they will tell a device plugged into them what IP address to use, if asked.
DHCP is always enabled by default on a PixLite controller so it can immediately work on any existing network with a router. However it is recommended that you assign a static IP address once communications have been established via the configuration utility.

If the controller is in DHCP mode and is not assigned an IP address by a DHCP server, it will then timeout after 15 seconds and default to a static IP of 192.168.0.50

If DHCP mode is enabled both LEDs will flash together until the controller receives an IP address, at which point the power LED will remain on solid and the status LED will flash slowly indicating it is in run mode and ready for use. If a static IP address is assigned to the board, then the power LED will be solid from power up.

Forcing the PixLite IP Address