Anyone in Perth willing to share their knowledge?

sveevers

New elf
Hi, I'm new to this forum and the idea of computer controlled lights but I have decided that I want to get something up an running for
Christmas 2016.

As I'm new to this I was wondering if there was anybody in Perth who is using computer control this Christmas who wouldn't mind me coming to have a look and a chat about the setup?

Basically I want to see what gear I need to acquire over the year to get a basic setup running next year.

Thanks,
Steve

dale82

Senior elf
Firstly Welcome to acl, secondly you should download the 101 manual and have a look at all the options etc. this forum is certainly the right place to start.

djgra79

My name is Graham & I love flashing lights!
Global moderator
Generous elf
Hi Steve, Welcome to ACL!
I'd suggest getting familiar with the 101: http://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php/topic,1889.0.html
It may take a couple of read through to make sense of it. Otherwise, hang around the site and see what other members have done this year to get some inspiration and then inquire as to how they did it and what they used, that should set you in the right direction.
plenty of experienced & friendly members here, feel free to ask as many questions as you need, they're all welcome!
Cheers, Graham

sveevers

New elf
Thanks guys. I have had a read of the 101 document and I guess I've made as much sense of it as possible without actually having a 'play' with anything.

One of the things that I am most interested in is how people run all the cabling on large scale projects. ie. Where are the controllers located with respects to the light features? Do most setups run just one controller or multiple controllers in the yard?

I'm in Byford which is about 10km south of Armadale.

scamper

Dedicated elf
I know it well.