Artificial Pixel Tree Help

Rygy12

New elf
Hello guys. I would like to replicate this but I have no idea where to start. I've never done ANY led project and I'm new to LOR, so I really have no idea where to begin at. I obviously see the products used which are listed in the video description which are helpful, but as far as wiring and hooking into the laptop and powering and programming goes, I haven't a clue. I'm dedicated to learn how to do this. Any help is appreciated. http://youtu.be/2exSd0IMcj4

madmaxisback

New elf
:) OMG!

I would like to know what our resident experts say is the best way to achieved this too!

I will be watching this thread closely...

i13

Dedicated elf
Welcome to ACL

I can't write a single post long enough to explain everything you need to know in one go. There are so many setup options to choose from and you need the understanding of each one to decide which is best for you. When are you trying to have this set up by?

The best way to learn this is by taking your time. I started here by reading every forum post as it appeared and letting it gradually sink in. It became routine.

Those are RGB pixels so a good starting point would be to try familiarising yourself with xLights and Vixen 3 because they are free software for that purpose. You don't necessarily need any hardware or software from Light-O-Rama.

If you haven't read it yet, check out the 101 manual and then come back with a new set of more specific questions.
http://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php/topic,1889.0.html

That looks similar to a matrix with vertical strings except in reality they're just wrapped around the trees. Information relevant to matrices (grids of pixel lights) should be relevant to this project. Similarly megatrees are wired the same way (or close to it).

Approximately where are you located? The supplier options vary.

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer