Best way to hook up pixel strip

nato595

Let's do this!
Hello all!
My hypothetical situation is that I want a smart strip to be located say 100' from my computer & dongle.
Which would be my best physical setup, considering signal loss, of the following two... or even an alternative suggestion?
1. Start my run from the computer with a pixel controller, 100% of the run in CAT5 with null/phantom pixels every x feet, then directly into the strip.
2. Start my run from the computer with a DMX dongle, 99% of the run in CAT5 as DMX signal, then the remaining 1% of the length as a DMX-SPI Pixel Decoder/Controller.

Let's also consider that I will be controlling 20 strips in a similar setup scenario, does that change my ideal solution?
I am a novice when it comes to holiday lighting in general, and an extreme newbie regarding smart pixels, so hopefully at least one of my above options is even possible and maybe even a 'good idea'!
Thanks in advance!

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Another option you havent considered is using a pixel extender from J1sys that will allow the signal to travel up to 3 x the distance (300ft) you need.

Personally i try to keep the power supply and controller within 5 metres (16 feet) of the lights, so the second option is what i prefer to do, but is not always possible in all applications so I use option 1 for some elements.

But with extra long distances that dont justify its own controller then the ECG-PPX signal amplifiers are definetly worth an investigation http://www.j1sys.com/ecg-ppx/

battle79

Full time elf
Another option is to use e1.31 out (network port) from the computer to a pixel controller that takes e1.31 data (ie ECG-P2, or E682). This would allow your Cat5e run to be up to 300ft and the controller to be right next to the lights.
This will require you to have the PS next to the lights also.

Just thought I'd throw out another option.

Regards,
Rowan

dmoore

Senior elf
nato595 said: