changing a lsp file to a fseq file so it can play in a pi

Discussion in 'LightShow Pro (LSP)' started by Benschristmaslights, Jan 15, 2015.

  1. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    HI Guys

    I have done a rough video of what you need to do to run your lsp sequences on a Fpp pi.

    hope it helps. and sorry about the screen grab I think I need a better graphics card

    https://vimeo.com/116760749
     
  2. gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    Thanks Ben,

    Much appreciated !
     
  3. dale82

    dale82 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingaroy
    Thanks Ben, this will help me heaps when I set mine up.
     
  4. bpj1980

    bpj1980 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamlyn Terrace
    Nice work, one problem your using lsp, lol, just kidding, well presented...
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    I know it is a rough video but I hope it help
     
  6. mborg10

    mborg10 Michael Borg

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    claremont meadows
    Thanks Ben,
    The effort you put in is always appreciated.
     
  7. nutz4lights

    nutz4lights Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    I have some questions, since I was largely unsuccessful in getting this working when I tried in December... how many channels total and did you have any pixels that were present in multiple controllers in LSP?

    Can't wait to watch the video.

    Louie
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    I had 14500 channels and had controllers across universe yes eg p2 had 8 universe coming out of it
     
  9. nutz4lights

    nutz4lights Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    Sorry, what I meant was, did you have, let's use my example of a wreath with pixels in it. I had one element / controller for the whole wreath (let's say channels 14150 thru 14300) and then I had separate elements / controllers for the left and right side of the wreaths (let's say left = channels 14150 thru 14225 and right = 14225 thru 14300). I was fairly convinced this was causing my issues, but had at least one person say they no issues doing that. I had 110 universes and around 30,000 channels and I also wondered if that caused issues too...

    Louie
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    you have channel 14225 overlapping 2 controllers.

    also one thing I have heard but not tested is that this way of converting the files will only work up to 16,000 channels. I have not tested this so am not sure
     
  11. nutz4lights

    nutz4lights Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    Sorry, bad example, the right would have been 14226 thru 14300. That would really stink if 16000 was the max, at least for me! I also tried the Light Elf software and had some success, but the colors were jumbled up. I'm trying early this year to go back thru and setup my channels and universes differently and maybe should try only running half the display to see if that works... wouldn't dive my problem but would prevent me from continuing to rip my hair out...

    Louie
     
  12. logandc99

    logandc99 Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    1
    Find Me On:
    I've started playing around with the Pi and using the Falcon player to play my LSP files (using Light elf to convert the mseq files to fseq files).. So far haven't any luck getting any light output.
    The I saw Ben's video and learnt something about the LSP channel config that I didn't realise was required.
    On the video it says that there cannot be any gaps in the channel numbers and that you have to create dummy controllers to fill up the channel numbers. My channel numbers jump around a bit from universe to universe (e.g. universe 16 might start at channel 4500 and universe 17 might start at 3000 etc.... it was just the way i set them up when I started using LSP and added in new elements). I have 24 universes in total and was wondering if I can create dummy controllers that will fill in the channel numbers that aren't being used between the universes that already exist and make these part of new universes that I can add on to the end (e.g universe 25 could fill the empty channel numbers between universes 16 and 17) or do the universe numbers and the channel numbers all have to go sequentially together. i.e do I have to go through and re-allocate my elements to different universes to make them sequential.
    Hope the above makes sense :eek:
     
  13. logandc99

    logandc99 Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    1
    Find Me On:
    Hmmmm..... musta been a silly question [emoji5]️
     
  14. nutz4lights

    nutz4lights Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    I think everybody else has moved on to xlights/nc4. ;-)

    Louie
     
  15. dpitts

    dpitts Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Falcon, CO
    I remember last year i could not get lightelf to produce a good fseq file. Try exporting to xseq. Then use convert tab in xlights to convert to fseq. The whole dummy controller thing is not needed.
     

Share This Page