Crashes

Discussion in 'xLights (Nutcracker)' started by Boof63, May 5, 2015.

  1. Boof63

    Boof63 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kadina
    Hi, I keep getting this crash report (since 4.0.26) but computer loops and I cant send it to you.
    Here are screenshots of just before crashes, also cant get preview to run any actual effects ,lights can be "turned on" in preview but cant turn "off".
    Hope this helps, as I have just got the preview setup as needed and would hate to have to redo it again,
    Cheers Boof63 ??? ???
    PS setup is e131 and 70 universe x 510 channel. (total actual channel count is 11476, so no idea why 004.jpg show the error message that it does)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm not able to help with the crash itself but do you have a camera/smartphone to take a photo of the screen?
     
  3. Gilrock

    Gilrock Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Find Me On:
    It's looks a lot like Issue #85 on our Github bug tracker.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Boof63

    Boof63 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kadina
    ok , registered on Github and had a look.
    What is the fix please if one, or is it work in progress,
    thanks Boof63
     
  5. dkulp

    dkulp New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Framingham, MA
    There seems to be an issue with the crash report dialog if it runs on a background thread on Windows (it's OK on the Mac) where it does into some sort of loop. I haven't figured out what it's doing yet cause I also cannot get it to do it in the debugger. :(


    However, while it's up and disabled like that, if you go to either:


    1) The directory that is shown at the top of the dialog
    or
    2) The directory containing the xLights.exe


    you should find the backtrace.txt file and other files.


    That all said, I did fix a nasty bug on the background threads over the weekend that could cause this. I haven't had a crash since then.


    I also was not able to reproduce the "too many channels" thing. Not sure how to even debug that one yet. :-(
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Boof63

    Boof63 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kadina
    here are files, cant locate backtrace.txt on my computer at all

    cheers boof63
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page