1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Distance controller pixelite16

Discussion in 'Advatek Lights' started by paranco, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. paranco

    paranco New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone A question use a controller pixelite16 with 22 RGB LED strips ws2811, maximum distance that I can hold between the controller and the first pixel.

    Consider that I joined 2 strips for a total of 300 pixels and I like 5 meters away from the controller, only that when I want to play back pictures do not get the desired effect the pixels I turn on randomly

    May depend on what is the length between the controller and the first pixel that is too long

    Sequences with simple works quite well apart from some slight flicker
     
  2. ltay13

    ltay13 Full Time Elf Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Melbourne
    Hi Paranco,


    That sounds like a typical noise problem. If you run something where they are all doing same colours for instance it works OK but when you run complex patterns it flickers a lot?


    What this normally means is that noise is coupling across from one wire to another. When the data is the same it doesn't matter but when they are supposed to be doing different things there is interference.


    Are you running the cables close together and with no shielding? Try separating some of the wires from the others and see if it improves.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    paranco

    paranco New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello L_Tay thanks for the reply,
    the cables are all inside a sheath and are 5mm section but are not shielded ...
    the problem is the shield? does not count the length of the cable?

    I forgot, the sheath there are power cords
     
  4. ltay13

    ltay13 Full Time Elf Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Melbourne
    Length does play a role as well. So one easy way to test then is to unplug all outputs except for one and run the complex pattern again. If it works and then adding in other outputs makes it worse, it will be noise coupling from each wire across to the next. Then try separate them physically or shield them to fix it.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    paranco

    paranco New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    actually the beginning of the sequence with a few pixels on, the sequence is correct, when the pixels become many sequence is no longer correct wrong color and position.
    Separate the wires being inside a sheath will be difficult I mounted everything, maybe I can shorten the wires to the minimum possible and hope it's enough.

    I thank you so much for the advice that I have suggested.
    thanks
     
  6. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    I am always suspect that most issues are directly related to lack of power. Testing with an all white pattern with da_e131 is the easiest way to check for power issues. If you have any glitches there, pinkness or anything latching on then it is quite possibly power. Having a complex signal modulating the DC power running the pixels can certainly effect the performance too though. Sometimes it is 20 or 30A of DC that is being switched just about instantly across the entire strings of pixels if you are turning things on and off from black to white for instance.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    paranco

    paranco New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    AAH Thanks for your answer
    all strings are fed individually and use two feeders 30A
    The problem of the lights flickering them I though at that time are turned on only 40% of the lights, while in a sequence where I turn on all the lights together (red and blue alternately) no problems flicker.
     
  8. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,501
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    You say you joined 2 strips together, did you inject power for the second strip, because if you didnt do this then your issue is most probably caused by voltage drop as you need to inject power into the second strip.
    The best way is to inject at the end of the second strip back down the strip if the strip is configured in a zig zag, but if you dont have any injection and are running 2 strips together then that will be your issue or at least one of them.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    paranco

    paranco New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is a schematic diagram of:
    blue line = 5v power
    Green line = signal
    Rectangle red = strip of LEDs
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    IMO - you need to get power in the other end as well... strip is very unforgiving with power.


    The other issue u may have is adding some null pixels between the 1st strip and ur pixlite I normally only get 3-4mt without a null pixel
     
  11. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,501
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Looks like you are adding the correct injection power at the back end of the second strip. What is missing from your diagram is how you have connected the ground wires, Does the ground from each output also go to the strip and how far away is the power supply and the controller from eachother
     
  12. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,501
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Also being 5vdc what is the guage/size of the cable used for both data and power
     
  13. OP
    OP
    paranco

    paranco New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    The negative has not been drawn but obviously is connected. The section of the cable used is 0.5mm
     

Share This Page