1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

DMX Box Appearing over the contoller name

Discussion in 'LightShow Pro (LSP)' started by Jimbo, Mar 26, 2014.

  1. Jimbo

    Jimbo Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,


    I am using the light show pro in the demo mode. When I added the channels for my house outline, on the main screen at the top (channels 1-12) I cannot see the controller label name of House Outline. It has a box over it with the word DMX in it. Whenever I add further controllers - this appears again over the name (Icicles etc).


    Can someone please advise if this just in the demo version? I watched the Beginners video and followed the same steps and this did not appear in the video.


    I would like to have this clarified prior to purchasing the software license.


    Thanks
     
  2. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    There's a thread or 2 around on this topic. If I remember rightly it has to do with standard sized fonts or something like that.
     
  3. Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
    Yes, Alan that may be it.
    In windows 8 it's a setting in
    Control panel/ Appearance and Personalization /Disply

    The size setting needs to be 100%
     
  4. mmulvenna

    mmulvenna Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is not just windows 8 or the demo version and it is a reported bug.
     
  5. arw01

    arw01 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Washington

    can you post a screen shot of this, does not do it on my screens, so would like to see what' different. ALso a screen shot of your controller configuration also please.


    If I shrink my column size down, I don't have the issue either.
     
  6. mmulvenna

    mmulvenna Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is a reported bug from quite a few users and it is not just with DMX controllers. It started with version 2.5 if I remember correctly. The developers will resolve it in the rewrite or possibly before if it is an easy fix.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Jimbo

    Jimbo Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]


    Here is a screen shot. As you can see there is a funny little box that appears over the controller names above on the main page.


    I am using Windows XP.


    I tried changing the fonts in the display settings nut didn't make a change.


    Any advice would be appreciated.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Jimbo

    Jimbo Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    [attachimg=1]




    Here is screen shot
     

    Attached Files:

  9. arw01

    arw01 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    So tell me about your graphics card and your display drivers?


    I'm on intel integrated with the laptop and don't have this issue at all. Must be some other trigger that LSP doesn't like and perhaps we can find it.


    Interesting that Mike would say they might fix it before the rewrite, as Dean made it clear there were no fixes being done to 2.8 unless it was a show stopper, and even though I have a show stopper myself, it's not getting fixed.


    No updates have come out on the progress of the re-write, even though it's been over 4 months since the decision to do the re-write.


    Alan
     
  10. mmulvenna

    mmulvenna Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0

    Have you let Dean know what the show stopper is?
     
  11. arw01

    arw01 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    My post is on the forum, you have bumped to it twice to developers. Next show won't run until something very small at the fourth of July.
     
  12. mmulvenna

    mmulvenna Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hi, I might suggest an e-mail to Dean as the developers are buried in the new coding.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Jimbo

    Jimbo Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    So is there a solution to this issue? I would class it as a show stopper because it makes it impossible to clearly see the elements to program easily. I am also reluctant to go and buy another computer to potentially have the same issue again.

    The computer is Intel 2 core duo 2.9GhZ processor with 4 gig ram running windows xp 42 bit addition.
     
  14. AussieDoug

    AussieDoug Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interim fix would be put somethin in front of the name until it get out from behind the DMX box. use something like ****** or AAAAAA or whatever symbols / letters you like.

    Just a thought anyway.
     
  15. arw01

    arw01 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    You could also change the color.


    What is your graphics card and what version are your graphics drivers?
     

Share This Page