1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Dmx controller from Falcon Player

Discussion in 'DMX, E1.31 & Networking' started by code, Nov 24, 2016.

  1. code

    code New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Hi guys, my pixlite 16 has to go back for some testing and I am wondering if this would be a good replacement for my dmx spotlights.

    https://www.led-supplies.com/led-controllers/dmx-controllers/dmx-controller-6a-x-3-channel-rj45-in-out/

    I assume I just run an Ethernet cable from my router to this and it decodes and outputs to the lights?

    Assuming also it will work with xlights ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. caffeine

    caffeine Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne (Wantirna)
    That's a DMX board that will take DMX signal in and output to dumb rgb lights by the look.

    What you send out over the network is E1.31 data.


    What sort of lights are you running, and how did you have them connected to the pixlite?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    code

    code New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    https://m.aliexpress.com/item/32249441206.html?trace=wwwdetail2mobilesitedetail&productId=32249441206&productSubject=DC12V-input-10W-RGB-DMX-LED-flood-light-IP66-with-13-5mm-4core-waterproof-pigtails-input&spm=2114.01010208.3.1.JbVW5s&ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0,searchweb201602_3_10056_10065_10068_10055_10054_10069_10059_10073_10017_10071_10070_10060_10061_10052_10062_10053_10050_10051,searchweb201603_1&btsid=27a04b1b-71ed-4539-bad4-6c402ada145c
    These are my spotlights, used the dmx output on the board but it seems to have developed a fault not related to the dmx part.
    So in theory this board would not run my spots with out a bridge ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    Your pixlite is acting as the bridge from e1.31 to DMX.

    So a standalone e1.31 to DMX bridge would make sense. I've only got experience with J1SYS devices - I have a DR4 and a D4 (both 4 outputs, the DR4 being the first version that also supported Renard) He also has a D2 (2 outputs).

    Not sure if Ed from J1SYS is around these days though?

    http://www.joshua1systems.com/products/lighting/index.html


    Haven't seen these ones before - not sure if any good:
    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/E1-31-sACN-To-4-DMX-Universes-Interface-Bridge-F-MagicQ-Satge-Lighting-Controll-/162178276091?hash=item25c2941afb:g:HF4AAOSwZVlXvFFy
     
  5. OP
    OP
    code

    code New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    The bridge part is expensive, so will prob have to pack them away for this year ☹️


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. caffeine

    caffeine Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne (Wantirna)
    You don't NEED a bridge necessarily... depending on how you are controlling your lights. If from a PC you can use a USB dongle, either directly to DMX old style pins or better to ethernet.

    Trouble is I'm having difficulty finding one in the UK when I've searched.

    They look like this: http://www.hansonelectronics.com.au/product/usb-dmx-dongle/
     
  7. OP
    OP
    code

    code New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    It will be running from my fpp player, I'll have a search myself


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. OP
    OP
    code

    code New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the input guys, I think for the cost I may as well pack them up for the year


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
    The usb DMX adapters can be used with FPP from my understanding. Just need to set it up as an output in the webportal.


    As they are relatively cheap, could be an option
     
  10. drm1963

    drm1963 New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee

Share This Page