Does anybody have experience with the T-200K Controller from Ray Wu?

bobdow

New elf
Hi,

I'm a newbie, I have an ambitious Burning Man project. 3000 RGB pixels. I am using 3 wire 5v WS2811 strings from Ray Wu and also have this controller (that he recommended).

My pixels are wired 5v DATA GND and the terminal blocks on the controller [/size]are labelled CLK DATA COM. As I understand it, the WS2811 3 wire strands [/size]don't use a clock wire... ok... so how do I connect the strands to the [/size]terminal blocks?
[/size]
[/size]Or am I missing the boat and I should ignore the terminal blocks and only use the Ethernet ports on the other side of the device for E1.31?
[/size]
[/size]If yes, where do I inject power for the strings?
[/size]
[/size]The "manual" for this controller is pretty barebones and I can't find any good install info... lots of people sell it but they have the same confusing instructions. Ray hasn't responded to my request from last week.
[/size]
[/size]I'm willing to go another controller direction, but I love solving a mystery. I will wire it up, take pictures and document it myself if we can figure it out.
[/size]
[/size]thanks community!

kmccamman

New elf
I don't see the WS 2811 3 wire pixels in the list of supported IC chips on Ray's website for this controller, just WS 2801, WS 2803. I am assuming that i have found the same controller on his site, here is a link:

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/T-200K-led-pixel-controller-can-be-controlled-via-PC-suppor-many-kinds-of-IC/701799_497637885.html

The wiring diagram looks a bit strange in that there are labels for clock, data, and ground like you have stated, but to operate the pixels there would have to be a positive connection somewhere I would think. Maybe someone with more knowledge and experience can chime in with better help.