E682 to PC communication loss

Timmy

New elf
I have a e682 to control a pixel tree. I have been running tests on the tree. My communication between the computer and e682 stops working randomly. It seems that the only way for me to get the controller to work again is to reconnect the internet and access the e682 setup page. I don't have to make any changes, just re-accessing the page gets the controller to work again. I do not have the show computer connected to the internet. I am currently using the tree to display a pink ribbon in observance of Breast Cancer Awareness. I have Xlights scheduler running to cut off at 23:00 and this morning it was still on when I got up. I tried to use Xlights to turn it off and it would not work. I ended up pulling the power plug to the controller to turn it off. Any suggestions as to what could be causing the loss of communication between the PC and controller?
Thanks in advance

lizardking

IT IS STILL ALL BENS FAULT
i am no expert but is windows timing out the controller page due to inactivity like if you dont move your mouse or press any keys your pc goes into hibernation mode

Timmy

New elf
I am not sure. This is my regular show computer with LOR and I have all settings set that I know of to not time out. It has worked fine with those for years but I am new to pixels.

Kitman

Full time elf
I have also setup an e682 for my mega tree, however I haven't run the tests for an extended period of time so I can't say I have seen this same issue.

1 thing that may be causing an issue and I can't fully remember off the top of my head, but I believe there is a setting on the e682 where you can turn on or off auto updating, it could be possible that it is set to auto update and because it can't connect to the internet it falls over and stops working, possibly changing that setting to never check might resolve your issue.

Again this is from memory but that might be something to check.

Timmy

New elf