1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

ECG-P2 Power Set up

Discussion in 'EthConGateway by Joshua 1 Systems' started by cscool36, Jun 26, 2014.

  1. cscool36

    cscool36 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belrose NSW
    Hi All,
    Just been looking at the Quick note for set on my p2.

    Can I power from the pixel plug side with 5 volts?
    In the common combinations you can do with 7v-40v supply back fed through pixel connector.
    I think K3 = 2-3, J1 = 1-2 and J2 = 1-2.????

    Thanks
    Colin
     

    Attached Files:

  2. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Connecting via the 3rd option would likely work but as the 5V is potentially being fed from metres away the 5V probably isn't going to be especially good and it may cause issues with the micro. If the power is close to the P2 then you could probably get away with it.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    cscool36

    cscool36 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belrose NSW
    Thanks AAH.
    the P2 and power supply will be next to each other.
     
  4. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,133
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    also never power the pixels from the p2 always power direct from the psu
     
  5. Kaden

    Kaden Pixels! I need more pixels!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I power all my p2s from the pixel side, but always between the controller and the first pixel. However I use 12v so that will make some difference.

    If you measure 5volts at the p2 power when the pixels are all on white then I can't see a reason why not to do it.
     
  6. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,133
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    I just recommend not to these days as I have had many people tell me they have blown there p2 up and that is the only difference I have seen. also how many pixels are you running off each output?
     
  7. Kaden

    Kaden Pixels! I need more pixels!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    How did they blow the P2? over voltage?
     
  8. BundyRoy

    BundyRoy Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    9
    There's no fuse in the P2 to protect the board from shorts in the light power circuit is there?
     
  9. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    No fusing and no protection. If you are putting 5V out to the pixels via jumpers that very same 5V is connected directly to the micro.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    cscool36

    cscool36 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belrose NSW
    I will be using only 5 volts power supply. I am not using the P2 to power any of the pixels.

    So I power the pixels and the P2 from the 2 pin plug at 5 volts?
     
  11. mborg10

    mborg10 Michael Borg

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    claremont meadows
    That's right but make sure you put in some fuses to protect your controller and pixels
     

Share This Page