Answered Ethernet help

Elecgreg

New elf
I have a micronet SP586A dual speed up

The problem is that when I start it up the subnet mask is 255.255.0.0. as it was once on a larger network a second hand device that I once saved from scrap also the IP address is 169.254.x.x and the actual address assigned to the Raspberry Pi3B keeps changing is there a way to obtain static addressing as I will be also including in the show one or maybe more Arduino Mega 2560s to control old AC incandescent lights with relays or motor driven devices.

My home network is the traditional 192.168.0.x with a subnet 255.255.255.0

Every time I restart the network hub it assigns different addresses so if I set the wanted address for the network hub in Xlights with it remain as that address once loaded.

I am a network novice or a illiterate depends on the skills required.

tooms

12v4life
The 169.254.0.0/16 address suggest that your devices are configured to obtain an IP address via DHCP and they're not able to do so.

If you configure each device manually with a static IP address, they should stick each time it's rebooted. Another option is to configure your DHCP server to hand out the same IP address to a given device based on it's MAC address, this is a bit more complex to configure on your DHCP server, and you need to be able to find each devices MAC address to configure it do so.

I would just configure each device with a static IP address in your 192.168.0.0/24 range (the /24 means you're using a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0)

i13

Dedicated elf
I suggest running a separate network for your display.

Elecgreg

New elf
The hub is a seperate network but that mask is a problem it runs ok just want to know how to change things so it will work for me

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    740.2 KB · Views: 17

Old Salt

Apprentice elf
What's the model number of your hub? I can't make it out in the image.

Elecgreg

New elf