Feeling confused.

AndiK

Apprentice elf
Hi all. Im new at all of this and have read the amazing 101 manual. Im now a lot overwhelmed. . Where on earth do i start.. what do i buy? I have some lights. Ie. Big w type of lights that id like to still use.. but wow... where too now? I did get a link to a shop, but i have no idea what to buy... help please...

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
A pertinent question is whether the Big W lights are the older "3 wire" style or the newer "2 wire" style. If they are from this year or last year then it's a pretty fair chance that you are in trouble as there isn't really an easy way to control them. If they are the older ones then they are dead easy to control. All you need is a DC dimmer or 2, a power supply or to suit (typically 27V-31V) and a usb dongle then work out which software to use. Xlights 4, Vixen 2 or Vixen 3 would be my recommendations for software. LOR and LSP could be used but why spend the money when the above software will do the job just as well for free.
Theoretically if you grabbed a dongle and DMX36 from my website you could be flashing lights on Thursday evening :)

kel

Dedicated elf
Be patient, Andi ... there are many members in Victoria that can assist. Then if you need to talk to some other, they are always helpful in Chat

I see that Alan has responded ... trust what he tells you ...

mborg10

Michael Borg
Firstly welcome to ACL.
If your wanting to do an animated display this year just start with something basic to wet your feet. I would suggest getting out to other peoples displays and just have a chat. Majority are really helpful. Don't be overwhelmed as it takes years to get to the stage that some are at. It doesn't just happen overnight.

i13

Dedicated elf
If you have no idea where to start then this is probably too soon to buy hardware. Other people can make suggestions but only you can decide whether they're right for you because there are so many options.