fpp Raspberry Pi question

assilem4791

If I rest, I rust.
I guess I am a step below a newbie. I've watched so many of the videos on downloading and setting up FPP on the Pi, but as I have never used a Pi before ... is the FPP considered the OS, or do I install a Raspbian OS before loading FPP? I've ordered a Pi4 model B and a micro SD, waiting for them to arrive next week. I'm also ordering an f16v3.
Sorry in advance for my ignorance.
Mel

Last edited:

Jorge Bolivar

Full time elf
I guess I am a step below a newbie. I've watched so many of the videos on downloading and setting up FPP on the Pi, but as I have never used a Pi before ... is the FPP considered the OS, or do I install a Raspbian OS before loading FPP? I've ordered a Pi4 model B and a micro SD, waiting for them to arrive next week. I'm also ordering an f16v3.
Sorry in advance for my ignorance.
Mel
Hi @assilem4791

Not an ignorant question at all, btw if every newbie asks this question their FPP experience was more pleasant.
Yes, FPP is considered the OS. Use (Balena) etcher or similar to burn the image instead of extracting the files.**
No, no need for the raspian OS.
Be sure to format the SD card properly before load FPP on it.

A word of advice:
RPi4 runs hot, plans for a passive cooling system.
If you get a Cana kit or similar that comes w a preload SD card, get a different SD. Partitions will make you suffer.
Read the FPP manual.
Get familiar with the image burning process.**
Read and ask questions about the network setups before starts to set the FPP up.

Let us know how else we can help.
Good Luck!
Edit, typo, sentencing, and add deleted sentences relate to etcher.

Last edited:

assilem4791

If I rest, I rust.
Thank you so much! Little deets like this are not in any of the videos I've watched on YouTube!!

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer