1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

freaky but frustrating

Discussion in 'Corrugated Plastic (Coro) & 3D Printing' started by nzlongfellow, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. nzlongfellow

    nzlongfellow Dennis from NZ

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lepperton, Taranaki
    Find Me On:
    In the final stages of finishing my singing faces and connected up a 27 Channel controller.
    When I applied power all the pixels lit up.
    There are 8 circuits with Dumb RGB's so 24 outputs used. Running 5V supply.


    (Ah i think somewhere 5V is too low to run these boards)... I digress.


    THE Freaky part is that when I looked at the lights they were all at the correct colour...NO controller and all DIP switches off.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    You can run the board off 5V if you mod it alternately you can run the board off 12V for instance but have the outputs switching 5V by connecting all the +ve's to a 5V supply with the -ve of said supply hooked up to 27ch board.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    nzlongfellow

    nzlongfellow Dennis from NZ

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lepperton, Taranaki
    Find Me On:
    Thanks Alan. I new there was something like that. Cheers.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    nzlongfellow

    nzlongfellow Dennis from NZ

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lepperton, Taranaki
    Find Me On:
    Alan, I don't have the Ray Wu 27 Channels.
    Can you please indicate if I have selected the right areas on my boards to convert to 5V.
    Here are the pics of mine.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    That looks about right but a bit hard to tell without 1 in front of me. The zener is there to provide some protection for the board if you happen to put too high a voltage onto it or you reverse the connections. There's probably no need to remove D2 as it gets bridged out of the circuit by the link/fuse. The fuse probably only needs to be 1/2A rated or thereabouts. It is only powering the pcb logic and ideally should be sized so that it blows before the zener is vaporised if you do something wrong.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    nzlongfellow

    nzlongfellow Dennis from NZ

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lepperton, Taranaki
    Find Me On:
    Thanks Alan, I tried one and it works so ordered the rest of the parts to convert them all.
    And D2 does not have to be removed.
     

Share This Page