Frustrated newbie...

mrweiss52

New elf
I've been a member of the group for awhile. I've learned a lot, but I'm still a complete newbie with no actual hands on experience with rgb pixels, etc. I was hoping to include a 10ft mega tree in my Christmas 2022 (120v static all LED) display, but that's not going to happen. This past year I did get a new Falcon F16v4 controller (that was an unexpected surprise) and a Meanwell 12v 350w power supply, but that's it! So now I'm thinking about downsizing from the mega tree to something less complicated (and less expensive) for Christmas 2023, like the PixNode Tree mini-trees or PixNode CoroCane candy canes from HolidayCoro. I just want to build "SOMETHING" from start to finish and have it display properly! All insights and suggestions from the group will be appreciated...

merryoncherry

Senior elf
You are likely to get a lot of variety in responses to this. Watch videos of smaller displays and look for things you love. If you need advice, bring those to someone and ask the best way to achieve the same thing in small scale.

Only one 12v 350W supply isn't much and will constrain you to 1000-2000 pixels, if you can add a second you'd be able to use all 16 ports on the Falcon with fewer constraints.

If you're looking for the cheapest, most versatile props, I have some recommendations:
1. Arches. Get something small and cheap. Being in the States, you can get white PEX, slip a 2m RGB strip in it, stake it down, plug it into the controller, and call it done. Using the coro bullet arches will cost more, use more of your limited pixel power, and look out of balance with the rest of any smaller show.
2. Mini trees, spiral trees, vertical "peace" poles, or some combination, with tiny stars on them. They support a wide variety of effects, are pleasing to watch, very versatile with not many pixels
3. Snowflakes and/or spinners... but I say that because I love getting mesmerized by things that spin..