Frustrated with all sequencing software

Gilrock

Full time elf
After xmas I spent over a week trying out all the different sequencing software packages I own and a couple new ones and I came away frustrated with almost all of them and not sure what I even want to spend time on for next year. I've been using LOR for 3 years and if you try to use pixels or any hardware they don't sell it becomes a pain in the butt to define the channels and to represent them in the visualizer. I ended up having to write my own channel manager to be able to convert my channels to E1.31 so that I could run everything from a Falcon Pi Player. I own a 24 ribbon version of SuperStar and I really like that program but it's clear it developed to work with CCR's and if you use your own DIY ribbons it can be a headache figuring out how to map the output to your controllers. I've owned a copy of LSP that I paid at least $400 for and I set it aside in January last year and tried it out again now and I didn't see any performance improvements. It still freezes the screen alot when trying to sequence and I had trouble trying to draw a 2D flat ribbon tree in the preview. It seems like it takes me 4 tries to do a chase because it has a strange method to create one. The video I watched shows you drawing a cell then copying it and then deleting the cell and then using drag and shift to do the chase. Trying to create a macro effect takes forever to render and I have a smokin fast PC. I tried HLS and spent a ton of hours learning all it's quirks. I liked a lot of what I saw there but you kinda need to have one foot in the door of an insane asylum to remember the workflow. It seemed like I had to number my channels 5 times. Then exporting to xLights to run on the Pi player wasn't working. Trying to create a 2D tree was a pain because apparently everyone else only creates 360 trees. You have to close the preview window every time you want to draw a new effect. xLights was actually quite pleasing to use it