Gday. I'm a newbie.

Nathan F

New elf
Gday Guys and Gals.
I had a quick flick through the 101 manual and, I'm not quite sure if I am going to go that full on to be honest. Although you never know what the future will hold.
My wife and I have a large family with young kids. We have recently moved into our new family home and we are going to go a bit crazy with the lights this year. But we are tired of buying lights that are buggered after one season of use.
Please if the people of this forum would be kind enough to point us in the right direction of where we can get our hands on good quality lighting, that would be a great start for us and we would be thankful.

Cheers

Nathan

gerry

Senior elf
Welcome to ACL Nathan,

Is your intent to also do sequencing etc to animated lighting ? Most of us are DIY , but you do get Minleon lights (I dont have any) , that are good quality and also have programmers with built in effects

mborg10

Michael Borg
G'day Nathan,
As Gerry said most of the lights on here are DIY which involve time effort and yes failures.

I am personally changing my display to minleon 1. because I'm limited for time at Christmas, 2. Because they are extremely reliable and 3. Because they are not DIY I can get insurance on them for my installation business.

Saying that for a DIY option Ray wu's pixels have been good in the past for me.

i13

Dedicated elf
Welcome to ACL

A little bit of DIY knowledge and soldering skills should come in handy even if you don't want computer control. I have cheap store-bought light sets that were from the end-of-season sales in 2008 and they still work fine because I fixed the issues as they appeared.

Generally the LEDs in sockets don't last as long as the ones in heatshrink. Clear cables discolour in the sun too.