1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

General frusteration venting post

Discussion in 'The Family Room' started by nato595, Oct 11, 2016.

  1. nato595

    nato595 Let's do this!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reno, Nevada
    Find Me On:
    I just spend 2 straight hours diagnosing weird flickering in my pixels while testing through xLights. I tried different speed settings, different power injection points, different cable connections, etc. After 2 hours, I see such a simple little annoying solution...
    Any guesses?
    LOR Comm Listener was running the entire time hidden in my Windows Tray and interfering with xLights. Close the dumb thing and what do you know, all works perfect!
    Aarrrgggggg! So frusterating, yet so simple!
     
  2. scamper

    scamper Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    collie
    Find Me On:
    Haha, I know it is the little things like that that drive you up the wall at times.
    I did a similar thing a few weeks back. Well sort of.
    I started my vixen program and setup all the new outputs etc for a modified megatree, the n turned on the controllers and hooked up the lights etc and started trying to diagnose my problem, checking power supplies all cables then went duh...
    Shut down and restart the bloody program :p
     
  3. Gilrock

    Gilrock Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Find Me On:
    I wonder if there's a way we could detect that process and warn the user?
     
  4. mararunr

    mararunr Here to learn! (and share)

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    3505 NW Edgewood Ave, Bentonville Arkansas, USA
    Find Me On:
    Did you try just testing through the controller? I know the falcon controllers have a test button. Very easy to do testing without any network connectivity. Because I run 5v lights, I do all my testing with just a F4V2 and a phone charger wall wart wired to my F4V2. So simple to pull out and test anywhere anytime. I only add network connectivity if I want to change the test pattern (again on the Falcon GUI - no need for xLights to test). Hope this helps.
     
  5. arw01

    arw01 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    Been there done that, having one instance of xlights on one computer and on another computer in test mode can cause the same issue and cause you some head scratching..
     
  6. OP
    OP
    nato595

    nato595 Let's do this!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reno, Nevada
    Find Me On:
    That would be amazing!!
     

Share This Page