Greetings from Canada!

whipsaw

New elf
Hello all! I'm from western Canada and started looking into doing a sequenced LED display for Christmas 2021 after seeing another one locally, as well as Matt Johnson's displays online.
I have managed to get a friend involved locally as well so that we'll be able to bounce ideas off one another.

So far we've ordered a couple of the small Renard Plus ESP wifi controller board kits. I am planning to order some LED pixel strips from Amazon to build a couple of small trees so that I can play with lighting up sequences in my office. I am coveting the Falcon 16-channel expandable controller board, but given that I'm also a full time student at the moment, that will have to wait! :D The unfortunate thing with living in Canada is that many things for this hobby seem to ship out of the United States. You wouldn't think that would be a huge thing given that we're right next door to one another, but between the difference in currency value and rather expensive shipping, it sure adds up. Given that this is an Australian message board, I'm probably preaching to the choir on that one. ;)

Anyway, thanks to you all for having this resource available online. The "101 document" that you've put together is incredibly helpful.

Cheers!
whipsaw

TerryK

Retired Elf
Hi, welcome to ACL. For some design ideas and help with problems you may encounter I would suggest looking at the various ACL sections. They are all searchable. Forum threads are archived and using search one can see what topics have been discussed or debated previously. There is also the Chat Room and typically someone is either lurking or monitoring pretty much any hour.