1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Having troubles with channels pixlite16, vixen & FPP .. 300 pixels on an output

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by tooms, Dec 3, 2015.

  1. tooms

    tooms Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kalgoorlie
    Hi all .. hoping someone can point me in the right direction, I have a pixlite 16 and on one output I have 300 pixels attached, everything works ok except the last 20-30 pixels (i haven't counted yet) are a slightly different colour, if I do a test from the pixlite controller all pixels light up correctly, how ever my sequences I do with vixen it really stands out .. I'm using Vixen to sequence and then exporting to FPP, I suspect it has something to do with channel mappings.

    I'm using output #2 on the pixlite, start universe is 1, start channel 301 (I have another 100 pixels on output #1 already), end universe is 3 and end channel is 180.

    I've read somewhere else that channels 511 and 512 cant be used, could it be a problem with my mappings in Vixen or FPP ? it looks like it's just a couple of channels off as they light up, but just the wrong colour.

    I originally just swapped the whole last string out after adding more power injection into it, new string does exactly the same.
     
  2. zoobmarine

    zoobmarine New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Find Me On:
    Hi Tooms, some screenshots of your configuration might be helpful
     
  3. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    It will be the 170 pixels using 510 channels out of the 512 that is the issue.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    tooms

    tooms Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kalgoorlie
    this is the pixlite setup:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. OP
    OP
    tooms

    tooms Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kalgoorlie
    FPP Mapping:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. zoobmarine

    zoobmarine New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Find Me On:
    Just like AHH Mentioned you need to change the Universe size to 510 on FPP
     
  7. zoobmarine

    zoobmarine New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Find Me On:
    Also dont forget you can go to the Chat
     
  8. OP
    OP
    tooms

    tooms Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kalgoorlie
    Thanks .. I'll give it a go and report back, I was going to post it in the chat but realised my explanation of what I thought was going on might be a bit long winded
     
  9. OP
    OP
    tooms

    tooms Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kalgoorlie
    Thanks all .. setting it to 510 channels on the FPP seemed to have fixed it!
     

Share This Page