Hello everyone

Minion mania

New elf
I'd imagine everyone is quite busy at the moment getting ready for your shows. Myself, I am really new to this and am planning to start with a residential starter kit for 2016. I have been reading up on all the information I can find and I always come back to LOR as a great entry product.
I am from Central Queensland and have attended a particular light show for the last couple of years at Yeppoon. Last year I took my girls to watch the Frozen clip, it was amazing and a favourite. We'll done if the creator is on this site.
So it got me to thinking, I really want to get into this. No one in my local area does this as yet, that I am aware of so would really like to bring something like this to our community.
I've watched a lot of sequencing tutorials and it looks pretty challenging but I'm keen to give it a go.
My only question would be whether to buy 15 or 30 amp controllers? I am not really sure which is better for my purposes.
All the best, look forward to seeing the results of your hard work

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
LOR AC controllers are pretty much the most expensive way to get into animated lighting.
http://auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/Controllers
For instance my DMX36 36 channel dc controller and a usb dongle works out at half the cost of 16 channels of LOR AC. All you need is a power supply on top of that and theoretically you could be blinking lights by tomorrow.

gerry

Senior elf
Welcome to ACL.

IMHO , I dont think that you should be buying LOR hardware.

there are any umber of more economical options.
Have a look at the Pixlite 4 - which will enable you to run RGB and has a DMX controller , the J1sys P2 or the larger Pixlite 16 / several other larger ones.

A group buy just completed for a Falcon F16v2 controller as well.

i13

Dedicated elf
Welcome to ACL