Hello from Newborough, VIC

cleefy

New elf
G'day,

A bit of back story from me... I've been doing basic Christmas lights since my girlfriend (now wife) gave in about 4 years ago. Our current house has a fairly big and bushy front yard, so I was unable to put my lights up last year, and wont be able to this year either.

We're building a new home which will have a very nice facade and big front yard, and it will be fingers crossed built in time for Christmas in 2018! So with that in mind, I've been lurking for the past few days getting the low down on pixels, sequencing etc. etc.

I've read the 101 guide, and it cleared up a few concepts for me. I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to electrical stuff, but I know how to join wires, solder, use a multimeter etc. Where I think I'll do well is with the computer side of things, being an IT geek for a day job.

So my plans at the moment are to get my hands on some pixels and figure out how they work. I don't care when they arrive, as I'm not planning a display for this year. I'm thinking of starting small, and make some pixel based candy canes out of corflute... anyone care to comment on my 'shopping list' below?
I'll obviously need to get my hands on a power supply too, but am open to suggestions on this (plus the above!)

My intention is to eventually move on to a Falcon F16v3 controller and start sequencing a display to music. Baby steps though.

Thanks for reading :) I look forward to your replies.

Boof63

Senior elf
Welcome to ACL, great bunch of gals & guys, the 101 is the starter and multiple reads do help, chatt online here is also helpful for those troublesome problems.
I have same nodes in my candy canes,( work a treat, 5 Years old and going strong) Power supply from Ray are fine but buy two just to have a spare or a Meanwell pwr from Hanson's. Xlights or vixen (xlights i use - big users and regular updates from devs. As well as very helpful on their web site) both are free.