Hi from NW Tas

TritonTAS

New elf
Hello people,

I have been cruising around the site for a couple of days, I'm looking at giving the Christmas lights a crack. Not overly sure how I'm going to go this year. Whether time and money will permit? Anyways, if you don't have a go, I suppose you will never know?! So here I am!

A little about myself... after playing around with home automation and getting that to a point where I am content. I have turned my attention back to Christmas lights. I have had xlights and audacity on my computer for about 2 years now. Think it is about time I get more familiar with the software and put them to use. Besides, I need something to keep me of the streets. Whilst dabbling in home automation, I started playing with RasPI's, ESP8266 and RGB Leds. I thought I am dangerous enough now to get to making Christmas lights.

I am an electronics technician by trade and enjoy keeping up to speed with evolving technology.

Currently I have made three ESPixel modules, and started planning the layout on the house. Configured a RaspberryPi model 3 B+ and a Zero W with FPP. Using an old Telstra modem/Router, 5v and 12v power supplies as well as led strips. I think my first year for a display will be fairly basic. My biggest goal is to configure and construct elements that are going to be modular for ease of setup and storage. Also to be as aesthetically pleasing to the house during the day time.

Looking forward to learning, sharing and getting to see other setups around my area.

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Welcome to ACL. Always good to see another electronics tech around.
Make sure you download and have a read of the ACL101 if you haven't already. Reading that will keep you off the streets a bit longer :D

TritonTAS

New elf