Hi there

chrisparton1991

New elf
Hi all,

I'm new to the forums and thought I'd introduce myself. My name is Chris and I'm a software engineer living in Wollongong, NSW.

I've been tinkering with electronics for about a year and I really enjoy a good Christmas light display. The centrepiece of my display this year is quite modest, just four pillars running some effects from four Arduino Pro Minis using FastLED. Video below (apologies for poor quality):

View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0LetAVtUFUM

There will be lots of other lights added to the house over the next few weeks, of course :)

For 2017 my plans are more ambitious. I'm working on my own LED sequencing software called Sparkled that will allow me to sequence lights to music. I know there is software out there that can do this better than I'll be able to, but for me it's a great hobby and learning experience.

I'm looking forward to seeing more of the fantastic work this community is doing!

Cheers,
Chris

keithsw1111

Senior elf
Hey Chris, welcome to the mad house. Have you considered joining one of the existing projects and helping make theirs better? xLights is written in c++, vixen is written in C# and then there is the falcon player (not a sequencer but still a major open source project in this space).

I also did what you did the first few years before deciding I was mad not jumping onto e1.31. I still write my own arduino firmware (https://bitbucket.org/keithsw1111/arduinodmxws2811) but I now work on the xlights project and have been for about a year now.

If you havent already done so:
- read the 101 manual
- watch the xlights videos ... even if you stick at your current approach there is stuff to learn about how other sequencers approach the problem
- join us in chat any night or on the friday zoom call at 7pm Sydney time