1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Home Networking Help

Discussion in 'The Family Room' started by livetoride, Sep 16, 2017.

  1. livetoride

    livetoride Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Find Me On:
    Hey guys, So Im currently trying to convert a wifi connection to a router for some ethernet connections in my shed. What I have to this point is a Netgear R700 Router which has a wavlink AC600 connected (Ethernet Range Extender). Now the range extender is super strong and Im getting solid 80mbps from it.

    Now I bought a cheap Tplink router Tl-MR3420 that has Wireless bridging available but I cant see to get it to work. Is this the best way of going about it? Ive only got a smart tv and jukebox i need hardwired and maybe a connection to the test bench. Im familiar enough with networking but cant get this to work. Ive followed instructions on the net how to bridge but it dosnt seem to get the internet connection from the range extender.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!@
     
  2. Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kadina
    Sorry i;m no help but can you post screenshots of your settings.
    may help someone else diagonse your problem..
    Cheers Boof63
     
  3. richardd

    richardd Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Geraldton
    Can't guarantee I can help but we can do a zoom meeting and you can share you screen so I can have a look
     
  4. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Munno Para
    So you have a wireless link from location A to location B and you want to have physical cables running from the wireless router at location B to some other devices?

    This is certainly achievable, it depends on the settings within the TPLink, if it has a DHCP server function you need to turn that off, as it needs to obtain all IP addresses from the location A device, then you should be able to have DHCP enabled on the wireless side of the TPLink so it gets an ip from location A and all data is forwarded on. I will take a look at the setup guide for the TPLink and see if I can tell you what options to turn on and off so it works.
     
    livetoride likes this.
  5. OP
    OP
    livetoride

    livetoride Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Find Me On:
    Hey guys thanks for the replys. So yeah that's the setup i have kitman, Ive currently followed the tplink guide off the net about disabling dhcp etc and it shows that its bridged but it doesn't give it internet if that makes sense. In saying this I have only had a play for about 30mins so I could be missing something. I was wondering if the wavlink and tplink might not like talking to each other?
     
  6. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Munno Para
    it mentions in the document to turn on the "Enable WDS Bridging" which will bridge 2 wireless networks together. That should assign an IP address from location A to the wireless in location B, then with DHCP turned off in location B any device connected should get an IP address in the same range as location A, EG location A range is 192.168.1.XXX a location B device should also get 192.168.1.XXX However it depends how they have set up the bridging, it may be expecting to broadcast a new range in the second location via it's own DHCP server so any device in location B would have to be on a new range say 192.168.100.XXX with the DNS pointing to location B router.

    Using multiple devices across 2 locations can always have it's benefits and draw backs, it's why I ran a 30 meter cat6 cable from my house to my games room and then just run a switch in the games room, makes life so much easier.
     
  7. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Munno Para
    Also 1 way to know if the TP link is connected to location A wireless, it should show up in the device list of the location A wireless access point.
     

Share This Page