INK1003 30LED/mtr, 30Pixel/mtr, @ 12V

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by battle79, Jan 8, 2014.

  1. battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
    Just found this on Rays site.

    Appears to be a new chip that can run 12V (5V variant also) and give you 30 fully addressable LEDs per meter (or 60 if you prefer).

    Runs on the WS2811 protocol apparently.

    Anybody used this? Liked it? Like the idea of it? Care to explain how it works?

    Cheers,
    Rowan
     
  2. mborg10

    mborg10 Michael Borg

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    claremont meadows
    Have you got a link. Are you sure it's not 30 led per m which is 10 pixels. That's what they have always been.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
  4. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Weird that the strip has 12V and 5V connections, but the specs for the chip say 7.5V max ?
     
  5. hamish

    hamish New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    exactly what I was just looking at , one minute says its 5.5v operating but the next says it runs on 5 and 12v :eek:
    I am also curious to how this works
     
  6. dkulp

    dkulp New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Framingham, MA
    If you look at the 4th picture, there seems to be some components on the BACK of the strip about every 15th pixel. My guess is that you hook up 12v and that extra stuff is some sort of voltage regulator or something to create the 5v line.


    That's just a guess though.
     
  7. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Good catch. I didn't scroll down that far on the page to see the last larger photo. :-[
     
  8. AussieDoug

    AussieDoug Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    They do look like they could be interesting, might need to buy some & have a look
     
  9. davrus

    davrus Silent Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Whitianga
    Does anyone have an update on this ?


    And, a correction to the Topic, they are 60 pixels per metre. That would enable a great dense matrix.
     
  10. arw01

    arw01 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    There was a fellow having some issues with them on a E682, he sent the string to SanDevices to have them figure it out if it's a string issue, a firmware issue, or some other issue. They probably have just reached SanDevices in the last day or so, probably be another week before anything pops back up on that.


    Sean, of Nutcracker, was going to order a string to try too with Falcon pixelnet gear. I have not found out if he did that.


    Alan
     
  11. jcmarksafb

    jcmarksafb Hello from Christopher Creek Arizona

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christopher Creek Arizona
    It looks to me like you have one power supply for the led's and one power supply for the pixel ic
     
  12. AussieDoug

    AussieDoug Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have some in getting sent to me this week, so hopefully early next week I will be able to give it a test run & see how it goes. Ray has said that is only cuttable into 500mm sections due to the 12v - 5v resistors
     
  13. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    The way this strip works is that the LED and 2812B embedded chip runs at 5vdc, so there is a 5vdc track and the strip would be cuttable every pixel if using 5vdc. So its the same as any normal 5vdc strip in that regards.
    But there is an additional track that runs in the strip that is used for 12vdc. Every 500mm (1/2 metre) there is a voltage regulator on the back of the strip, this voltage regulator takes 12vdc and drops it down to 5vdc, so if using 12vdc then the strip would be cuttable for every 500mm only.

    So this strip is an attempt to allow the 2812B embedded 5050 LED to run with an input of 12vdc so voltage drop is less of a concern and current requirements would be lower than 5vdc. But as with most adaptions there is a compromise and that is the cutting distance of 500mm when running at 12vdc.
     
  14. tucsonlights

    tucsonlights New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I sent the ink1003 pixels I got from Ray to Jim at Sandevices because there is a timing issue compared to the ws2811. Jim has had the flu so he hasn't had time to test the pixels. Maybe a few of you could drop Jim a line and say that you are all interested in the outcome of this.
     
  15. arw01

    arw01 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Washington

    What's Jim's email there? just the sales one?
     

Share This Page