Lights coming when not supposed too

Discussion in '101 Display Basics' started by David_K, Dec 15, 2017.

  1. David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi everyone.
    This is my first time using xlights (usually LSP)
    I finished my sequence and thought i had done the layout to the controllers and outputs right but apparently not.
    There are lights coming on then they are not supposed too, I have read in another post its a conflict of channels but i just can't figure it out.
    Can someone point me in the right direction please
    Thanks
    Julie
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      74.4 KB
      Views:
      10
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      92 KB
      Views:
      10
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      339.4 KB
      Views:
      10
    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      82.2 KB
      Views:
      10
    • 5.jpg
      5.jpg
      File size:
      81.7 KB
      Views:
      10
  2. QldKing(Brad)

    QldKing(Brad) Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Albany Creek
    Find Me On:
    Looks like you have lots of overlapping channels in your setups. That won't be helping your output.
     
  3. djgra79

    djgra79 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    188
    Location:
    Cranbourne West
    Find Me On:
    IN xlights, use Check Sequence and have a look at the warnings and errors produced. That will point you in the direction of where there are issues
     
  4. QldKing(Brad)

    QldKing(Brad) Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Albany Creek
    Find Me On:
    Also, on the layout tab tick overlap checks enabled box (down the bottom). This will change the color to red for all the models that are clashing.
     
  5. swb

    swb Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Colo Vale
    So is the problem that you see lights come on that aren't supposed to in Xlights whole house preview, or does it work in xLights but looks wrong in the yard?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks everyone, I didn't know there was a "Check Sequence" or what the "overlap checks" was for lol
    In the house preview at the moment.
    I haven;t gotten to the part of the yard yet lol
     
  7. OP
    OP
    David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi again,
    Well i did as suggested and used the "Check Sequence" and ticked the "overlap checks" but I am still at a loss of what to do to fix the errors.
    GAH! I'm not having a good day when it comes to this lol
    Thanks
    Julie
     
  8. QldKing(Brad)

    QldKing(Brad) Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Albany Creek
    Find Me On:
  9. OP
    OP
    David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi QLDKing,
    Sorry I dont have a mic :/
     
  10. swb

    swb Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Colo Vale
    Or try the chat room...
     
  11. keithsw1111

    keithsw1111 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Kellyville, NSW
    Find Me On:
    You can always dial in on your phone.
     
    QldKing(Brad) likes this.
  12. QldKing(Brad)

    QldKing(Brad) Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Albany Creek
    Find Me On:
    Thats ok - you don't need a mic. There is a chat function in zoom
     
  13. QldKing(Brad)

    QldKing(Brad) Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Albany Creek
    Find Me On:
    Beat me to it
     
  14. OP
    OP
    David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok so i fixed the issure of the channels
    I just have one more problem with the check sequence
    It says:
    Non contiguous channels on controller ports
    ERR: Model 'main Star' and Model 'mini Tree-4' are on controller IP 'MULTICAST' Output Connection 'WS2811:2' but there is a gap of 270 channels between them.
    ERR: Model 'mini Tree-3' and Model 'mini Tree-5' are on controller IP 'MULTICAST' Output Connection 'WS2811:3' but there is a gap of 90 channels between them.
    what does this mean.
    I have attached a pic of the layout
     

    Attached Files:

    • 6.jpg
      6.jpg
      File size:
      77.2 KB
      Views:
      4
  15. keithsw1111

    keithsw1111 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Kellyville, NSW
    Find Me On:
    That happens because tree 4 likely has a missing or different controller connection.
     

Share This Page