Live show options....

zeighty

New elf
Hi everyone... New to the site and hopefully have found where some experts hang out!
I am a LOR user and have two 16 channel controllers. I have limited time this year for sequencing. My neighbors and family will hang me from the oak in my front yard if they hear the same 10 songs from 2013 Christmas show.
Here is what I want to do and I am looking, nay - begging for help and suggestions.
I want to do a live show. The s/w that I know can do this is Madrix ($400 +++) and a less expensive option called LightJams ($140) plus USB / DMX dongle. I was about to commit to LightJams when I came across Enttec DMXIS h/w & s/w package ($290) with a program option call Show Buddy ($113). DMXIS gives a performer the ability to play their back-tracks and send DMX commands with the option of no external intervention.
I am new to DMX and just need to see if anyone has ventured in to live control of their light show and what were the results. I am also having a hard time determining what I can do with DMX as far as effects, but I will post that on the LOR forums.
There are some links that may help:
Madrix LOR example:
http://youtu.be/aArcIiAbrD4
Show Buddy:
http://youtu.be/RO_HaBI7Wos
Really appreciate your time!

viennaxmas

New elf
I have used Madrix this year to drive a 5600 pixel matrix. Occasionally I have done some "live" operation either from the Madrix interface or via the http remote option. Most of the time it was Controlled by LOR.

Madrix is great if you have a large number of pixels to control however I am not sure it is the best option to control a few channels or to even control my 12 LOR controllers. You pretty much have to pre-build every light scene you want to have. Madrix can do some sequencing based on time code but it does lack the wave form visualization we have all gotten used to.