LOR Tips needed

Mikehunt

New elf
Hey guys,
This year is my first year doing lor light
I have 2 x 26channel controllers and looking at another
Can someone point me in the right direction as to where I can purchase lights from please to use with lor
Thanks

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Are they 16, 24 or 26 channel? If 16 then I'm guessing that they are 240V controllers and lights that are truly 240V in Aus will be an issue. If the controllers are 24 channels then it a DC controller and you can get dumb (Chinglish spelling is dump) RGB lights from Ray Wu or similar. The fairy lights now available from Big W, Bunnings etc can't be used on a standard DC controller. It the controllers are 26 channel then I have no knowledge of what they are.
To use 2 wire/2 channel fairy lights from Big W etc you either live with only every other led working on it with a standard DC or my DMX2-18 is designed specifically for these lights.

videoman3857

Full time elf
If you have the AC controller then you will have issues as they are designed for 240 volt lights.
Basically they're not available in Oz and most of the Chinese imports do not meet OZ standards.
You cannot control the fairy lights that use transformers or the control boxes.
The AC controller can only be used to turn the lights on or off.
Using it for dimming and fast switching will cause the release of blue smoke - that's bad
The DC type controllers can control led lights and RGB dumb pixels from sellers such as Ray Wu.
The older type lights from the chain stores have three wires going to the LEDs. These can be used to full capacity with the dc controller.
The newer type lights have two wires and the control box circuitry flip flops the power between the strings of lights.
The dc controllers - with the exception of Hansen Electronics DMX2-18 controller, do not flip flop the power between the strings.
This means that every second LED will illuminate instead of all.