matrix help

lightheaded

New elf
I have 3- 2 foot by 8 foot matrices that I will be putting end to end to create a 2 foot x 24 foot matrix. Each matrix is 48 nodes wide. I don't want to cut the pixels. for each matrix. how would I accomplish this. # strings 12 , nodes per string 144, strands 1. I'm using 12 strings so I wont have to power inject. First time for pixels. My controller is a Falcon f16 v4. I didn't want to continue the left over pixels from the string of 50 pixels to the next matrix panel due to the size of roll it would make.

Thank you

Bill

merryoncherry

Senior elf
I follow most of what you are saying, but not 100%.

Do you expect to take the 3 panels apart for storage?
What do you mean not cut the string? You'd rather leave bulbs hanging somewhere?
How good are you at xlights? Do you want it to be a matrix or are you willing to do a custom model?

lightheaded

New elf
Yes I wanna take it apart for storage. 12volt regulated pixels. I'm just learning xlights . Just don't wanna cut the stings. I'm willing to do a custom model but don't know where to start.

merryoncherry

Senior elf
OK so one thing you might do:
Port 1: 1-48 mounted; leave 49+50 hanging behind; screw together at break; 51-98 mounted; leave 99+100 hanging; screw together; 101-148 mounted; leave 149+150 hanging at the end.
Port 2-12: Same way.

This will require a special xlights custom model so it knows to skip the 2 pairs of extra pixels in the middle of the strings, and the 2 on the end. Then you'll put the matrix submodel in your groups and sequences instead of the main one.

Test your pixels. With the 12V regulators I've tested, this would not run at full 100% white, but with resistors it would. 30%, which a lot of people do, would be fine. Sounds like you don't want to do anything at the far end like PI.