1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Matrix Mess

Discussion in 'Advatek Lights' started by Boof63, Nov 29, 2014.

  1. Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kadina
    Posted this in DIY earlier
    ok folks thinking caps on please.
    75 x 20 matrix , ink1003's. Using pixlite4 as controller. That's working fine , test mode and with Da-E131 work as should.
    Use Hls and get scrambled results, ie test sequence is messed up partially - can figure parts of words and snowflakes as they fall, other effect bars/diagonals etc pretty patterns but not what was planned.
    Run a slow chase across all rgb channels and find that last 20 pixels of each universe fail to light up ( this happens in other effects (including using HLS PP editor as well as NC/XL))
    even when nc/xl are checked to be 'fixed' and they don't need to be, results are still scrambled, so assume NC/xl maybe ok for config.
    This leaves HLS as the culprit and I have no idea how to fix or sort this out.
    have tried multiple scenarios, configs etc but I'm missing something because I cant fix it , hence the plea for help
    cheers and thanks in advance to all replies

    PS since matrix runs String 1 - Left to right , string 2 right to left , do I need to set a zig zag number in setup ( have tried it but no success)
     
  2. nzlongfellow

    nzlongfellow Dennis from NZ

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lepperton, Taranaki
    Find Me On:
    Hi boof, I had a similar problem when running thru pixlite and xLights. Needed to set output 1 at 300 pixels ( I had 2 x 150 pixel strands in series AND had to tell xLights to use ALL 510 count of universe 1 and only 390 for universe 2 making the total 900. (300 x 3)
    Then universe 3 was 510 and 4 was again 390 etc..
    Hope this helps as i was missing the ends off my strings as well..
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kadina
    No luck NZ, slightly more compacted but still scrambled, life shouldn't be thus ------- HARD!!!
    will keep going, does my nc/xl setup look like how you have done your's??
    Cheers Boof63
    Pixlite4 output is as follows

    OP1: U51 C1
    OP2: U53 C106
    OP3: U55 C211
    OP4: U57 C316
     

    Attached Files:

  4. nzlongfellow

    nzlongfellow Dennis from NZ

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lepperton, Taranaki
    Find Me On:
    Im am running mine purely off xLights this year. Hear are my channel setup.
    If it helps...
     

    Attached Files:

  5. nzlongfellow

    nzlongfellow Dennis from NZ

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lepperton, Taranaki
    Find Me On:
    W#hy are some 510 510 105 and others 512 512 105?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kadina
    DOH!!!!!, getting tired, frustrated and not checking properly, thanks for the pickup.
    will try again now cheers
    Boof63
     
  7. nzlongfellow

    nzlongfellow Dennis from NZ

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lepperton, Taranaki
    Find Me On:
    all good ew ees waht we wnat to see and now awlyas waht is there.... :D
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kadina
    PS Nope no luck!! still munted!! missing those20 pixels from end of run
     
  9. nzlongfellow

    nzlongfellow Dennis from NZ

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lepperton, Taranaki
    Find Me On:
    1. Can you post a screen shot of the Matrix model???
    2. How many trands of 75 do you have per output??


    Pixlite 4 can have 4 universes per output - 680 pixels (2040 channels)
    Output 1 would start universe 1
    Output 2 would start universe 5
    Output 3 would start universe 9
    Output 4 would start universe 13

    You are showing that you have
    OP1: U51 C1OP2: U53 C106OP3: U55 C211OP4: U57 C316
    But your xLights starts at Universe 1You can edit xLights setup to change the universe the mapping belongs to so change them to represent what you want.



    First string of 75's, assuming you have 5 x 75 per output, you could have 1 - 1125
    Universe as Unv1 510. Univ 2 510, Univ 3 105, Univ 4 (Don't show)


    Next string of 75's you could have 1126 - 2250
    Universe as Unv 5 510. Univ 6 510, Univ 7 105, Univ 8 (don't show)


    and so on.


    See if this helps.
     
  10. nzlongfellow

    nzlongfellow Dennis from NZ

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lepperton, Taranaki
    Find Me On:
    Maybe this????
     

    Attached Files:

  11. OP
    OP
    Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kadina
    1. see attachment
    2. 5 x 75 pix per output

    Ouput shown in earlier post was how Luke from advatek said to set it up
    so stuffed if I know why it aint working!!
    Why would I drop universe number 4 , 8 ,12 ,16
    if I do so do I need to renumber universes in HLS, sorry for late reply went away and sulked ,LOL
    cheers Boof63
    Thanks again
     

    Attached Files:

  12. OP
    OP
    Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kadina
    ok do I need to rewire my strings

    Here is actual Physical layout, is this part of my problem.

    output 1 -> 1------------- >--------------75
    150--------------<--------------76
    151--------------->-------------225
    300---------------<-------------226
    301---------------->------------375
    450---------------<------------376 <- Output 2 is starting here
    451--------------->------------525
    600---------------->-----------526
    601--------------<-------------675
    750---------------->-----------676
    Output 3-> 751-------------->---------------825
    900---------------<--------------826
    901---------------->-------------975
    1050--------------<- -----------976
    1051--------------->-------------1125
    1200--------------<------------1126<- Output 4 starts here
    1201-------------->------------1275
    1350--------------<------------1276
    1351------------->-------------1425
    1500-------------<-------------1426

    Cheers Boof63
     
  13. nzlongfellow

    nzlongfellow Dennis from NZ

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lepperton, Taranaki
    Find Me On:
    Hi again,
    You stated earlier that Output 1 in Pixlite is set to Unv 51 but that needs to match what is in xLights.


    Starting out.
    You show the Model in xLights starts at Channel 1
    You have Channel 1 assigned to Univ 1 in your xLights setup
    Thus the first Universe in the Pixlite needs to also be assigned Universe 1 not 51.


    You can have 4 universes per Pixlite 4 output. You are using 3 of those 4 so the next universe for output 2 must be at least Universe 54 NOT 53 as per your original post.


    That may be the problem BUT still it should be
    Output 1 Starts at Univ 1
    Output 2 Starts at Univ 4
    Output 3 Starts at Univ 7
    OutPut 4 starts at Univ 10 to match your xLights SetUp.
    Cheers....
     
  14. damona

    damona Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    5
    I assume you are using the Zig-Zag feature in PixLight so it reverse every odd line. So you do not need to do it in the software.
     
  15. nzlongfellow

    nzlongfellow Dennis from NZ

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lepperton, Taranaki
    Find Me On:
    Given the above you should be able to do the following.


    Set xLights Setup so the Universe that the Pixlite 4 Output 1 is configured to is the same for Channel 1.
    Go to Test and turn on number 1 and you should get RED.
    Step through each string forgetting HLS.
    This setup would work.
    DO not select WRAP in Pixlite 4 setup, let xLights do it.


    Good Luck.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page