1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Multiple power supplies on mega tree

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by cdjazman, Jul 25, 2015.

  1. cdjazman

    cdjazman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    [SIZE=small]I am setting up my mega tree (that i purchased made from another member)[/SIZE]
    [/size]
    [/size][SIZE=small]I have moved the three power supplies from seperate masters weatherproof bozes and am mounting into a spare B&R box my neighbour had. I have mounted the p/s onto a piece of board and have reconnected the wires.[/SIZE]
    [/size]
    [/size][SIZE=small]The issue I have is that a V- wire from p/s 3 to p/s 2 is getting very hot. I have reconnected the wires the same as they were. I am not sure where I am going wrong.[/SIZE]
    [/size]
    [/size][SIZE=small]Any help would be appreciated. I have attached pics to hopefully help.[/SIZE]
    [/size]
    [/size]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. lizardking

    lizardking IT IS STILL ALL BENS FAULT

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Find Me On:
    need to increase the size of the font so we can read it
     
  3. OP
    OP
    cdjazman

    cdjazman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    not sure what happened there.....
     
  4. mborg10

    mborg10 Michael Borg

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    claremont meadows
    How many pixels are you running from 3 PSUs
    What controller are you using
     
  5. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    You have 3 350W supplies there and at a rough guesstimate the wire coming from the 30A supplies might be good for 7.5A each. It's a bit had to work out wire sizes and it's pretty much impossible to work out where they are routed. Can you draw up a mudmap of how things are connected.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    cdjazman

    cdjazman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    It is strange as it is the same wire used for all of December last year. See attached diagram which I hope makes sense.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. OP
    OP
    cdjazman

    cdjazman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    I am using P12R controller.

    I have run in test mode and all pixel strips are fine.

    It is just the wire heats up now.
     
  8. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    6
    Don't turn these back on or make any changes until someone confirms this.

    I think you might have swapped two of the wires on the mains input of one of the power supplies. This could be dangerous if I'm right or dangerous if you make changes and I'm wrong.

    Please get someone electrically qualified to verify that it is correct in person before turning it back on; there may even be other ACL members nearby.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    cdjazman

    cdjazman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    Oh crap..... I hear you.

    Any members in bayside south east Melbourne - Aspendale Gardens that would be willing and able to help.....?
     
  10. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Good call on the swapped wires I13. Yes there is an active and neutral swapped on power supply 3. It's not exactly unsafe though. Best to swap it though.

    I still can't work things out from the mudmap but I did notice from the 1st photos that the 1st 2 power supplies have 2 connections to each of the + and -. Power supply 3 has 3 to - and 1 to +. I'm thinking that the hot wire is the 1 that may be in - and not -.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    cdjazman

    cdjazman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    Power supply 3 is for power injection.

    I am not sure what you mean with active and neutral swapped.
     
  12. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Brown wire is active/line/L
    Blue wire is neutral/N
    Power supply 3 has the brown and blue in the wrong places.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    cdjazman

    cdjazman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    Oh....... I will get right onto that.

    Could that be causing overheating of the wire?
     
  14. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    It won't have any affect on anything. The active and neutral are interchangeable really.
    On the first lot of photos which is the wire that is getting hot and where is that meant to translate to on your mudmap?
     
  15. OP
    OP
    cdjazman

    cdjazman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    The hot wire is from power supply 3 to power supply 2. From V- to V-
     

Share This Page