My Controller box Build

Discussion in 'Computers, Cabling & Other Miscellaneous Hardware' started by warsome, Oct 28, 2013.

  1. warsome

    warsome Wires? who needs wires!

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Hi all.

    So finally finished my Controll boxes for the year.

    In my primary box I have
    -2 * 12V PSU's
    -240V fan
    -Pi with FPP
    -Small wifi router
    -ECG- p12S

    I used B&R cabinets, as I plan to mount them on the wall in my new house.

    First I added fans, had to cut our the vents for intake and have the fan pushing air out (exaust) I did this from experience that when a fan sucks air in, even with the shield, sometimes it will suck in rain and that's never good.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    The back plates come out of the box, so its easy to drill in everything with PCB screws.

    [​IMG]


    Then, Drilled in glands on the bottom plate for all my pigtails and services (power, Ethernet ect)
    And box One is complete.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. OP
    OP
    warsome

    warsome Wires? who needs wires!

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    In my Second box I have
    -2 * 12V PSU's
    -240V fan
    -ECG- p12S -- [soon to have a P12D to replace the P12X]
    - 27 channel Easy DMX LED controller

    [​IMG]
     
  3. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Now thats building boxes to last, A great job and looks neat, better than what Ive done in the past as for me DIY was about saving money so I could never factor in those great steel boxes for the price. But if i was doing it for someone else then thats the approach I would have taken
     
  4. Habbosrus

    Habbosrus New house (again) 2017

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swansea, NSW
    Find Me On:
    Wow! They look fantastic. Kinda' makes my effort seem very amateurish.
     
  5. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    It appears that you have the high current DC cables passing through the steel base plate with no bushing or grommet? The cables being only single insulated makes this worse.

    I 'd rather mention it now than wait for heat or abrasion to take it's toll and see you post about the fire in your cabinet. :D

    EDIT: It looks like some of the mains cabling is also passing through the base plate unprotected?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    warsome

    warsome Wires? who needs wires!

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    I have grommets to put in :) i was waiting for them to arrive (from ebay)
     
  7. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Ah, good man! :)
     
  8. Habbosrus

    Habbosrus New house (again) 2017

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swansea, NSW
    Find Me On:
    I have been able to work things so I can house my power supplies and controllers inside. Here they are in all their glory. Controller box 1 has doors (taken of at the moment). Controller box 2 saw me steal (see borrow) one of the wife's tupperware type containers as a lid (I just have it sitting over it in photo). It did the trick beautifully. I still don't see what her problem was ::) Women and their tupperware containers :eek:
     
  9. OP
    OP
    warsome

    warsome Wires? who needs wires!

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    So finished and in production.
    Box 1: (with P12D)

    [​IMG]

    Box2: (sorry bad pic due to sun)

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Snicko

    Snicko New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Se Melbourne
    How much were the B&R boxes worth?


    We carry a similar enclosure at work that i may look at doing what you have done here also!
     
  11. dale82

    dale82 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingaroy
    I was going to do one of those b&r boxes but the price was the killer
     
  12. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    The two meter boxes I bought for my display were about $110 + GST each (on special) from memory.

    What I love about the meter boxes is the non-conductive swing out panel.
     
  13. Steve22537

    Steve22537 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Harrisdale, WA
    Noticed you've got a WiFi router and a FM transmitter inside the cabinet, are you planning on mounting external antenna's or leaving the door off. Not sure what other problems you may have with your controllers as the RF is very close to them.

    You may want to increase the size of the incoming air vent (I assume its the hole near the hinge)

    Steve
     
  14. Snicko

    Snicko New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Se Melbourne
    It is deifnitely worth considering doing - I am a big fan of everything in one place! Its the exact reason i have a 48ru cabinet in the garage, if something goes wrong i go to one place!
     
  15. ChrisB

    ChrisB New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I like what you did with your controller's in the metal enclosures. I see the small pigtails coming out through the glands. But I also see you mentioned that this box was going to be mounted inside your home. I'm thinking garage??? Anyways have you tested this? I did something like this this year with the power supplies and 2 p12r controllers and it turned out it didn't work. It turns out my distance to first pixel was way to long. I ended up using pixel extenders which I'm not to fond of either. Please post up how this worked for you. Thanks Chris
     

Share This Page