My first Ray Wu order

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by PghProud, Apr 16, 2016.

  1. PghProud

    PghProud New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,

    This will be my first year doing a pixels (last year was my first year altogether). My plan is to outline my house, windows, and doors with strips. Build a 16 string 180 degree megatree. And maybe 4 arches along with some standard LEDs from last year's display. My shopping list is as follows

    20 PC 13.5mm plastic waterproof end caps
    20 pair 3 core waterproof pigtails
    20 PC 3 core waterproof T splitter
    20 PC 2 core waterproof pigtails (for injection)
    2 PC nes 350 watt 12 volt power supply
    100 PC 20mm silicone end caps
    15 PC 5 meter ws2811 strips
    10 PC 100 string ws2811 pixels
    Plus a falcon f16v2 which should be shipping soon. Sorry no links, I'm on mobile and using aliexpress app.

    My question is do I have everything covered? Should I order more of something or am I missing anything?

    Thanks for your time.
     
  2. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    6
    Posting your first Ray Wu order on the forums is a very good idea.

    One thing I think is missing from your order is a tester so you don't need to set up the F16v2 every time you want to check that you have a display item working
    http://www.aliexpress.com/wholesale?catId=0&initiative_id=AS_20160415175647&origin=y&SearchText=smart+pixel+controller

    It's a personal preference thing but I'd make the megatree 5V if using pixel strings/nodes depending on its height. More info here http://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php/topic,2595.0.html
    Note that the 12V strings from Ray Wu often run at high currents like 5V and this results in the 12V strings suffering from more voltage drop than they should. You could try asking for a 30mA (which is lower) per pixel/10mA per colour version. You won't need to worry about any of this for your strips.
    If you ask for custom spacing, you need to specifically say you're referring to the centre-to-centre spacing.

    Always grab a few extra pixels. You might need null pixels, repairs or you could even make your tree with a connector at each end of its strands plus a spare strand in case one goes faulty mid-season. You might want to adjust the number of pixels to efficiently use up the number of pixels supported per controller output.

    You might be able to get a controller for your standard LEDs from Ray too but it will depend on how they're wired. If there is an 8 function controller then there needs to be at least 3 wires going to the lights. If this is the case then they'll work with this controller
    http://auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/HD712
    It can handle up to 35V but you may need to beef up the PCB traces on the back to increase its current capacity. It also doesn't have termination or fuses. Termination is really easy though http://auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/DMX_Terminators

    Have a look at this thread too if you haven't already http://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php/topic,8449.0.html

    Note that while they may still work fine, the NES power supplies are likely to be clones and not genuine Mean Well supplies.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    PghProud

    PghProud New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, good info. Forgot to mention I have a ren 32 I used to control my LEDs last year. And that I plan on buying CG 1500 enclosures and a tree topper and pixnode strips stateside. Are there any other supplies I will need?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    PghProud

    PghProud New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. EdNetman

    EdNetman New Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you get free shipping?


    Everything I have looked at from AliExpress had shipping that would almost double the cost of the order.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. Homer2014

    Homer2014 New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Broome

    G'day , I think that is how Ray Wu does his invoices. The shipping cost is listed in the actual invoice.


    If it is free shipping I'd like to know also....


    Cheers
     
  7. Phrog30

    Phrog30 New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    I don't think the shipping is free, he just lumps it in the price.

    Shipping is not that bad. You can't look at the posted prices on his website, you need to request a quote.

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  8. EdNetman

    EdNetman New Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, I see.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ask Ray for a shipping quote. AliExpress can automatically charge more than Ray would when he actually calculates it for you.
     

Share This Page