Need help Setting up mutiple Controllers

Discussion in 'DMX, E1.31 & Networking' started by David_K, Nov 12, 2013.

  1. David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone
    Can someone point me in the right direction in regard to setting up more than one ecg-p2 controller. I have connected up a network switch and can log into both controllers. I am having problems setting them up in LSP, I have multiple elements the way Eddy shows how to set up in one of his videos, how do I set the system up so the controllers know which elements belong to which controller if that makes any sense. Thank you for any help, now I am off to bed to stress some more. :-\
     
  2. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    Very roughly, say that you had a string of 170 pixels on each of the two outputs of the P2s.

    So you would setup each of the P2's via their web config as follows (and of course you ensure that both P2s are on separate IP addresses)

    P2 #1 - output 1 - universe 1, with 170 pixels (520 channels)
    P2 #1 - output 2 - universe 2, with 170 pixels (520 channels)
    P2 #2 - output 1 - universe 3, with 170 pixels (520 channels)
    P2 #2 - output 2 - universe 4, with 170 pixels (520 channels)

    You then go into the "Configure Outputs" in LSP, and add an e1.31 output. In the config, you would ensure there are four lines, as follows (make sure "Act" is ticked to make that line item active)

    Universe 1, Start 1, Size 510
    Universe 2, Start 511, Size 510
    Universe 3, Start 1021, Size 510
    Universe 4, Start 1531, Size 510


    Then, setup your controllers. Add four new e1.31 controller with 170 RGB channels, and set the start channels to 1, 511, 1021 and 1531.

    That should be it.
     
  3. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    You set up each P2 output to see the universe you want it to see. so if you wanted universe 4 to be on the ECG P2 unit 2 output 2 you would set output 2 on that ECG to universe 4

    Kane has given a decent explanation on this
     
  4. OP
    OP
    David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so much for the help guys will have a look at it after work tonight,
     
  5. OP
    OP
    David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help guys, was doing everything right except the way i was numbering the universes.
     

Share This Page