need help with software to sequence lights

Discussion in 'Sequencers & Software Tools' started by holly and mistletoe, Sep 30, 2016.

  1. holly and mistletoe

    holly and mistletoe New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    castle hill
    Hi really new to all this. Just wondering if there is a version of software that can be run on a mac to sequence a light show? We don't own a pc so I bought a cheap one on ebay and it was the wrong requirements so can't run vixen on it. so instead of wasting more money I thought I'd ask here for help. If there isn't a mac software, what kind of computer would work and what price range would I be looking at???
    Thanks for your help
     
  2. bluzervic

    bluzervic 65,768 Channels, 185 Universes

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Fremont, Calif.
    Find Me On:

    Take a look at Xlights 4, it should be able to run on a MAC as well.
     
  3. darylc

    darylc Full Time Elf Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    39
  4. battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
    If vixen is what you want to use, then you could use bootcamp and install windows onto your MAC. Then you just choose to boot into windows rather than mac OS.

    Otherwise xLights will be the go.

    Cheers,
    Rowan
     
  5. logandc99

    logandc99 Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    1
    Find Me On:
    I highly recommend xlights on the mac.

    Edit: by the way, I'm happily sequencing on a 6 year old Mac with no speed issues in xlights

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    6
    I would highly recommend using xLights over this but your cheap Windows computer should be capable of running Vixen 2.1.1 if all else fails. I REALLY want to emphasise that Vixen 2.1 is obsolete and not a good option if you ever want pixel lights. I used it for 2 seasons and wouldn't recommend it for anything other than a last resort option if all else fails.

    I'm now using xLights on Windows and it's great! You could try running xLights on the cheap Windows computer.
     
  7. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Munno Para
    Depending on how you plan on running your show, from a windows or mac based PC or from a raspberry pi and how many lights you are running will really depend on what you need to be able to run the show.


    Can you provide the details of the cheap computer you purchased? What CPU how much Ram etc. Did you get an error when trying to install or run Vixen? if so what error? perhaps you just need some .net framework stuff installed which are freely available off the net and then the software will work.


    Really need some more info about what you have to be able to advise exactly what else is needed.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    holly and mistletoe

    holly and mistletoe New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    castle hill
    thanks for all your help I'll checkout xlights and see how I go. If it doesn't suit I'll be back for further assistance :D thanks once again
     
  9. keithsw1111

    keithsw1111 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Kellyville, NSW
    Find Me On:
    Watch the videos. There are almost 9 hours of them going over all the key features of the software.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    holly and mistletoe

    holly and mistletoe New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    castle hill
    If anyone knows about PCs I appreciate it if you would know if I can do any thing to get it to run the latest Vixen.


    this is the specs:


    HP Laptop


    Windows 10
    Compaq-nx6325
    Processor: AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-56 1.80GHz
    Installed RAM: 3GB
    System Type: 32-bit operating system, x64-based processor


    this is the error message I get when loading vixen: This APP can't run on your PC. Try and find a version for your PC, check with the software publisher.






    As you can probably tell I have really no clue with PCs, any advice given I will try my best to apply.
     
  11. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Munno Para
  12. AntinOz

    AntinOz New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also check that you didn't the install the 64 bit version on a 32 bit OS. I can run the latest version on my Acer Aspire One which is much lower specs then that. It doesn't perform well but it runs!
     

Share This Page