1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

New Kid on the block - Looking for some verification

Discussion in 'New Members Say Hello' started by PaulCans, Aug 6, 2015.

  1. PaulCans

    PaulCans New Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys and Gals,

    I've been loitering around for a couple of years and this year was told that seeing I spent so much time reading on this site I better have something good for Christmas.

    I've probably gone about this back to front but being a self employed IT consultant I started from where I was most comfortable.

    I've taken heed of everyone's comments and have utilised and old Netgear FW114G Router to keep my lights separate from my home / business network.

    So from a network point of view this is the plan.

    Any thoughts appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,543
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Looks okay to me. Without knowing what the capabilities of FPP 1.5 will be you may not need to have the PI. As the FPP will be running FPP already it may have the processing capabilities to do your entire show including the octoscroller and P10 panels.
     
  3. AussiePhil

    AussiePhil Dedicated Elf Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT, Australia
    Find Me On:
    The bbb doesn't have native audio output and needs usb audio, the Pi2 as master for audio and general show duties makes sense, with the BBB set in slave mode running the panels


    Wish i could layout network diagrams like that :)
     
  4. gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    Other than you probably don't need the wireless connection between your computer and the show Router (ie I'd probably use a direct connection to upload the sequences and media to the BBB and PI FP) , it looks good.

    How are you planning to connect the show router to the home router (eg LAN to WAN ports ?)

    Also , are you planning to use Unicast or Multicast ? (I am curious)

    My setup is very similar except that currently I have a USB Wifi on the PI to connect to the home router (to get time from the internet) and have not (yet) connected the home router to the show router.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    PaulCans

    PaulCans New Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the feedback.


    I don't like single point of failure so the Pi and BBB will both be present. If the BBB can take over form the Pi in the future all the better.


    The connection on the show network is on the WAN port. This is on a VLAN which only has internet connection on the home router. No traffic is allowed from one network to the other. Hence the wireless connection on my desktop to allow transfer of files, config etc.


    That said using xlights is there a way to direct traffic onto the 192.168.3.x network from the desktop for testing? I've not seen anything in the software so far.


    I'm using multicast for the time being for simplicty sake though that may change if load becomes a problem.
     
  6. andrewa

    andrewa Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Frankston North, Victoria
    Find Me On:

    If you change to unicast, you can then specify the 192.168.3.x network for each device
     
  7. gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    As long as your desktop can see the 3.x network , yes. You can set the FPs to Bridge mode and simply click on the 'Output to lights' icon in xLights and test from the sequencer itself. But your E1.31 traffic will then be over wireless and u may see a lag.

    I do the above , however the only diff is that I have the xL dev laptop hardwired into the show router when I want to do this (and I turn my laptop Wifi off)
     
  8. BradsXmasLights

    BradsXmasLights WiFi Interactive

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Find Me On:
    The IT advice I'll give is have a look at the Mikrotik Routerboards / RouterOS and then get rid of the draytek & netgear all together.


    I'd also loose the wifi link from the PC and just route your LAN -> Christmas traffic with your router :)
     
  9. kel

    kel Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tenterfield, NSW/Qld border
    [​IMG]
     
  10. bjpc2716

    bjpc2716 need more lights to light up the world

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    melbourne
    Find Me On:
    welcome aboard
     
  11. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    welcome to ACL
     

Share This Page