1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Null pixels - 2811 5050 module

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by gerry, Jun 22, 2014.

  1. gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    Hello,

    I have a 1 * 20 WS2811 5050 RGB module string (which I won at the mini). Can I cut this and use each individual module as a null pixel ?

    The module at each end has 4 wires and from what I can see GND and DI are connected together at the first module. It also has a separate GND and 12V wire.
    However the other modules (other than the end ones) only have three wires ie 12V , DI/DO and GND in the daisy chain.

    Other than this , everything else I have are 12V 2811 Pixel strips only and I certainly wont be able to cut and solder those as null pixels !

    Many thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Habbosrus

    Habbosrus New house (again) 2017

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swansea, NSW
    Find Me On:
    Well you can cut and use strip as null pixels if you wish. Yes, you can cut and use modules which are much easier for obvious reasons. Just connect them up as you would your strip. None of my modules have had the fourth wire on them.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    thanks Habbosrus.

    The fact that the first and last have 4 wires (and that the GND is connected to the data - if I am reading that correct - I posted a picture) gave me the impression that this 'connection' would then be carried through to the others and that if I cut each one up , then the middle 18 really ended up being different.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    Another view
     

    Attached Files:

  5. OP
    OP
    gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    Hi,
    Shell replied via chat (many thanks). Am posting here in case it should help others:
    "that single blue GND wire is for power injection, you dont have to use it "
    "The data/gnd wire goes to controller, as does the +ve "
     

Share This Page