Out door controller boxes

videoman3857

Full time elf
What does everyone use to house their controllers in ?
Being a Newb I have read that the controller should ideally be mounted close to the lights.
This means control board and transformer outside and housed.
I have seen the [SIZE=small]CableGuard CG-1500 Coax Demarcation Enclosure on Amazon.
Is there anything like this in Oz ?
[/SIZE]

cjd

New elf
Last year I just used a medium sized plastic tub.
Plenty of room for stuff, easy to fix things inside it, cheap etc.
Not as pretty as a proper CG-1500 enclosure (or similar) but did the job ;)
IMG_20151127_140104.jpg

richardd

Full time elf
I use the same as cjd and it works well.

CJD, I like the way you used the pvc pipe, what did you put on the outside to seal it?

gerry

Senior elf
I used the $11 masters enclosures where they were in the porch.
For ones in the garden , I used similar plastic containers to the picture.
For one which had my mega tree controller , I then put a plastic tub upside down over it at the end of each night .. to be sure .. to be sure.

DavidJ247

Full time elf
Hi Videoman3857 and welcome to acl.
Another popular choice of enclosure are the weatherproof boxes from Masters
https://www.masters.com.au/product/900030640/weatherproof-box-for-outdoor-power-connections
Plenty of folks using these, they are a good size for a power supply or a controller (or both, depending what you are using) and fairly cheap. If you search acl for masters box you'll find plenty of info on these.

(Just a tip, I have bought a few recently and they are now $20 on the shelf in the electrical section, however if you buy online and collect them they are just $12.50ea)

cjd

New elf
richardd said:
I use the same as cjd and it works well.

CJD, I like the way you used the pvc pipe, what did you put on the outside to seal it?
I used an elbow of pvc on the outside too (pointing down so now rain ingress)

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

scamper

Dedicated elf