1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

P10 Panels and Power draw

Discussion in '101 Display Basics' started by AussiePhil, Aug 15, 2015.

  1. AussiePhil

    AussiePhil Dedicated Elf Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT, Australia
    Find Me On:
    There has been considerable talk and debate on the Power consumption of the P10 panels.


    This thread is to collect data and actual readings.


    I decided to test with two panels hooked up to a bbb/octo and wired with some heavy duty power cables to minimise any voltage loss.


    In addition the brightness constant was changed in the fpp software.


    By default this is set at 7 and we tested values from 5 to 13


    The Light meter used is a Jaycar one and we can debate accuracy but all readings are relative to each other


    observations:
    The brightness level was linear for each change in the constant till we got to 12.
    The current draw increased in a linear fashion for the same steps.
    visually it didn't seem to get any brighter past 10 inside the home office.


    Here's the Lumen graph
    [​IMG]


    And the graph of current
    [​IMG]




    At the maximum observe current the measured voltage at the panel power connector was 5.14V


    Single panel Max current draw here is 2.35A for a power figure of 12.2W


    David_AVD has measured 2.9A per panel


    Both figures are in the theoretical maximums based on the constant current set resistor and the 1/8 scan rate of the panels.


    It is my recommendation that all power cabling and sizing of the power supplies should be based on 3A (15W) per panel, this allows you to run higher brightness if needed, covers future changes in the default value in software, covers alternative controller options and allows a solid safety margin in general.
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    I set up 8 RGB P10 panels using my own controller and code. A DC clamp meter on the PSU +ve cables read a little over 23A for the total current draw.

    The power was wired as 2 sets of 4 panels. Each set used 2.5 sq mm cables approx 3.5 metres long. Over that distance there was about 0.3V drop per wire from memory.
     
  3. lizardking

    lizardking IT IS STILL ALL BENS FAULT

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Find Me On:
  4. gnarmstr

    gnarmstr Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Karalee
    So I will be setting up a 25 panel matrix (5x5). Based on the calculations above I will need a min of 375W 5V power supply, 450W to be safe. This would mean I will need to hook up maybe 3 power supplies, is therapy issue having different power supplies hook up to the panels, issues like you get if you did the same with pixels or are the panels power separated from each other and does not pass through the ribbon cable to the next Panel?

    Cheers
     
  5. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Power doesn't pass via the ribbons so multiple power supplies feeding different panels should be fine.

    The 3A per panel is the absolute max they can draw, but in practice it's a fair bit less when running on a BBB setup.

    That being so, I'd probably use a single 5V Mean Well supply (RSP-320-5) for 25 panels. That will give you 60A (300W) which is 2.4A per panel.
     
  6. gnarmstr

    gnarmstr Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Karalee
    Thanks for that, where is the best place to get the Meanwell.
     
  7. Phrog30

    Phrog30 New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    Interesting, my panels are from ray wu, purchased through a local vendor in the states. I'm seeing a maximum of 1a per panel. I'm testing via xlights at 100% brightness.

    James

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  8. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Yes, running under FPP on a BBB with the default settings, the current is substantially less.
     
  9. darylc

    darylc Full Time Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    50
    If this is the case, why do the panels light up (admittedly dimmer) if you remove the power cable?
     
  10. Wizard

    Wizard Love RGB leds

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
    I do not have any p10's at this point. but I also see power coming through ribbon cable. 5 volts approx 1.75 amps.
    My p6 and p3 panels also light up with no power connected.
     
  11. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    P10 panels do bleed power through the ribbon, but it's not by design. Voltage on the data lines pumps up the power rail via the protection diodes.
     
  12. djgra79

    djgra79 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Cranbourne West
    Find Me On:

    Would one Ray/Ben 5V PSU also be sufficient? Obviously, you'd buy a 2nd as a spare but as far as daily driving, one is all that would be required? I'm thinking of a 4x4 (16 panels) display so draw would be less than above example.
     
  13. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Should be fine.
     
  14. djgra79

    djgra79 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Cranbourne West
    Find Me On:
    Just brushing the dust off this older thread.
    My matrix will now be 5x5, however I plan to use a dimming curve in xlights around 50-65% so that there will be less power draw (and less harsh on the eyes)
    Based on this I'm still assuming 1x 5v PSU will be sufficient? If it isn't enough, what are the signs that I'll need more? Panels not lighting up or weird patterns?


    Also, how best to wire up the power wires? 3-4 terminal blocks between PSU & panels utilizing the wires that come with the panels? In chat it sounds like not many use fuses... thoughts? I do have 1x AAH Hexfuse which I was thinking to use on Pos side just to be safer.
     
  15. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Sounds reasonable to run from one "350W" 5V power supply.

    You will need some for of power distribution to spread out the all those panels. Doing it via a fuse board would seem sensible.
     

Share This Page